The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award 2015
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award 2015

Monday 23rd November 2015 6pm - 8:30pm 107 Charing Cross Road Literary Event, Free Event

To celebrate the return of The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award this year, Foyles Charing Cross Road is hosting a special event to spotlight the very best young writers today, featuring readings and conversation with past award winners Helen Simpson, Adam Foulds and Andrew Cowan plus three of this year’s shortlisted writers: Ben Fergusson (The Spring of Kasper Meier), Sunjeev Sahota (The Year of the Runaways) and Sara Taylor (The Shore). The event will be chaired by The Sunday Times literary editor, Andrew Holgate.


Venue: The Auditorium, Level 6, Foyles, 107 Charing Cross Road.


Please note, no physical tickets will be issued; the email confirmation you receive is proof of your booking

Join us from 6pm to enjoy a free beer and pizza before we hear from our speakers. The event starts promptly at 6:30pm.


About the speakers:


  • Helen Simpson is a novelist and short story writer who won the award in its inaugural year, 1991, for Four Bare Legs in a Bed and Other Stories. Her sixth short-story collection, Cockfosters, follows Four Bare Legs in a Bed (1990), Dear George (1995), Hey Yeah Right Get a Life (2000), Constitutional (2005) and In-Flight Entertainment (2010).  She lives in London.


  • Adam Foulds is a poet and novelist who won the award in 2008 for The Truth About These Strange Times. He has been the recipient of a number of other literary awards, including the Costa Poetry Prize, the Somerset Maugham Award, the South Bank Show Prize for Literature, the E. M. Forster Award, the Encore Award, and the European Union Prize For Literature.  His 2009 novel, The Quickening Maze, was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize.  He was made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2010.  His latest novel, In The Wolf’s Mouth, was published by Jonathan Cape in February 2014.


  • Andrew Cowan’s first novel, Pig, won five literary awards, including The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award in 1995. This was followed by Common Ground (1996), Crustaceans (2000), What I Know (2005) and Worthless Men (2013).  His creative writing guidebook, The Art of Writing Fiction, was published in 2011, and he has just completed his sixth novel.  He is the Director of the Creative Writing programme at UEA.


  • Ben Fergusson is a writer, editor and translator, shortlisted for his critically acclaimed historical fiction debut, The Spring of Kasper Meier. Born in Southampton in 1980, he studied English Literature at Warwick University and Modern Languages at Bristol University, and has worked for ten years as an art book editor and publisher. His short fiction has appeared in publications in both the UK and the US and has won and been shortlisted for a range of prizes. He currently lives in Berlin.


  • Sunjeev Sahota, shortlisted for his second novel, the Man Booker shortlisted The Year of the Runaways, was born in 1981 in Derbyshire. His debut novel, Ours are the Streets, was called 'Nothing short of extraordinary' Observer; 'A moral work of real intelligence and power' The Times. He is one of Granta's Best of British Novelists 2013.


  • Sara Taylor is a socially anxious product of rural Virginia and the homeschooling movement. She is shortlisted for The Shore, her highly acclaimed debut novel, which was longlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2015 and for the Guardian First Book Award 2015.


About The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award:


The annual award recognises the best literary work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by a British or Irish writer of 35 and under, with the award winner will be revealed on Thursday 10 December. For more information, visit:, or join the conversation on Facebook and Twitter.

Past winners:


2009 - Ross Raisin, God’s Own Country

2008 - Adam Foulds, The Truth About These Strange Times

2007 - Naomi Alderman, Disobedience

2004 - Robert Macfarlane, Mountains of the Mind: a History of a Fascination

2003 - William Fiennes, The Snow Geese

2001 - Zadie Smith, White Teeth

2000 - Sarah Waters, Affinity

1999 - Paul Farley, The Boy from the Chemist is Here to See You

1998 - Patrick French, Liberty or Death: India’s Journey to Independence and Division

1997 - Francis Spufford, I May Be Some Time: Ice and the English Imagination

1996 - Katherine Pierpoint, Truffle Beds

1995 - Andrew Cowan, Pig

1994 - William Dalrymple, City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi

1993 - Simon Armitage, Kid

1992 - Caryl Phillips, Cambridge

1991 - Helen Simpson, Four Bare Legs in a Bed and Other Stories


Leave a review
© W&G Foyle Ltd