A Death in the Dales

A Death in the Dales: Book 7 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 01/10/2015
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
A Death in the Dales
Cosy but not comfortable
I seem to have come rather late to Frances Brody, the Leeds-based author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries, as this is the seventh book in the series. Maybe... READ MORE
Jane E Skudder

Synopsis

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann CleevesA murder most foulWhen the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never be uncovered in the peaceful village of Langcliffe . . .A village of secretsBut it just so happens that Freda's nephew is courting the renowned amateur sleuth Kate Shackleton, who decides to holiday in Langcliffe with her indomitable teenage niece, Harriet. When Harriet strikes up a friendship with a local girl whose young brother is missing, the search leads Kate to uncover another suspicious death, not to mention an illicit affair.The case of a lifetimeIt soon becomes clear to her that nothing in Langcliffe is quite as it appears, and with a murderer on the loose and an ever-growing roster of suspects, this isn't the holiday Kate was expecting . . .Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.Praise for the Kate Shackleton mysteries:'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger'Delightful' People's Friend'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives matured by their wartime experiences. They make excellent heroines' Literary Review'I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character' Woman's Way'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780349406565
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 260g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 28 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
A Death in the Dales
Seventh book in series!
A Death in the Dales by is the seventh book in A Kate Shackleton Mystery series. Kate Shackleton is taking her niece, Harriet on holiday to recover from h... READ MORE
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader
A Death in the Dales
Another lovely story featuring Kate Shackleton
I received a copy of this book from the publishers and this is my honest opinion of the book. Kate Shackleton has taken her niece, Harriet, to the country... READ MORE
Janet E
A Death in the Dales
Good series
Kate's holiday turns to detection in another good book in this series. I like the characters and Kate makes great lead. Like all of the books in the series... READ MORE
Book collector