A Helping Hand

A Helping Hand

Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 22/09/2022
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
A Helping Hand
Quietly chilling
When middle aged couple Maisie and Josh inherit some money from an elderly lady in her will they decide to go on holiday to Italy. There they meet Mrs Fing... READ MORE
Lucy  Warrell-Becci
A Helping Hand
A Creeping Chill to Keep You Up at Night x
As a fan of Roald Dahl's short stories, I found this to have the same level of underbelly horror that his stories have. This slow-burning novel has some se... READ MORE
Brena  Newnham
A Helping Hand
Deeply Unnerving
A brilliant and terrifying novel with such vivid writing , and a chilling end! I have not really read anything like this before but was captivated by this ... READ MORE
Andrea Webb Waterstones Chichester

Synopsis

Middle-aged Josh and Maisie Evans lead an unremarkable, unassuming life. When Auntie Flo, who has lived with them for years, dies and leaves them her Estate, they head to Italy on holiday, to take in the sea air and let the sun soak into their bones. It’s there they meet Mrs Fingal. A wealthy widow, she lives with her grown-up niece Lena and it’s pretty clear that neither is happy with the situation. So when Josh and Maisie bond with Mrs Fingal, over ice-cream and gentle toddles, it’s only natural that they all decide she should must move in with them once home. It suits everyone. Beneath the suburban respectability of cups of tea and genteel chitchat, however, emerges a different tale: one of ruthless greed and exploitation, and suffocating, skin-crawling terror. For fans of Shirley Jackson, Roald Dahl and Muriel Spark, A Helping Hand is a sharp and nasty slice of darkness, and a reminder that the real horrors of this world can all too often be found behind discreet net curtains and the quietly nondescript.

  • Publisher: Daunt Books
  • ISBN: 9781914198335
  • Number of pages: 190

Customer Reviews

View all
A Helping Hand
An Enjoyable Slow Burner
This book definitely is slow paced, but I found it so enjoyable in the slow parts. Utterly gripping towards the end and such beautiful, immersive and gentl... READ MORE
Olivia Costello