• A Study in Drowning
  • A Study in Drowning
  • A Study in Drowning
  • A Study in Drowning

A Study in Drowning: Exclusive Edition

Science Fiction & Fantasy
Hardback Published on: 19/09/2023
Not available
This product is currently unavailable
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
A Study in Drowning
Wonderfully gothic storytelling
A Study in Drowning is a wonderfully atmospheric dark academia novel full of mystery, fairytales, romance, obsession and secrets. The bleak descriptions ... READ MORE
Laura at Blackpool
A Study in Drowning
Deliciously dark and utterly enthralling
Ava Reid has done it again! Full of twisted characters, dubious morals and beautifully sweet interactions, I adored this book. It questions what it is to ... READ MORE
Lavinia
A Study in Drowning
Perfect dark academia, autumnal vibes!
I cannot exaggerate how much I loved this book. It is the perfect dark academia, autumnal, eerie read! When Effy, a college student, gets the chance to... READ MORE
 Roberta at Altrincham
A Study in Drowning
The epitome of darkness
My first book by Ava Reid and it won't be my last. A mesmerizing dark academia story with a rival to lovers that was beautifully written. The prose was stu... READ MORE
Katie at Blackpool
A Study in Drowning
Perfect for fans of Dark Academia, Fairytales and Academic Rivals
Ava Reid creates another novel that I’m again obsessed with. Full of lore and story building with great and developed characters. The way Reid writes is ju... READ MORE
Georgia Wilson
A Study in Drowning
Fantastic for fans of dark fantasy, I want more!
The small family of a renowned author moulders away in a waterlogged house, its foundations set to collapse with the cliff below. It’s here, in the rural a... READ MORE
Lucy from Scarborough
A Study in Drowning
The perfect autumn read
Dark academia, enemies to lovers, a crumbling house by the water and a hefty dose of fantasy and folklore, what's not to love? I devoured this and immed... READ MORE
Violet Daniels
A Study in Drowning
A whimsical, gothic, powerful and dark academic dream!
A whimsical, gothic, powerful and dark academic dream! A Study in Drowning is a gothic dark academia fantasy set in a crumbling cliff-side manor, slowly gi... READ MORE
Léa at Brighton
A Study in Drowning
Gothic, romantic, fantastical, academic.. it has it ALL.
Ava Reid was already an autobuy author for me but this solidified it. I already want to reread and I bought every special edition. This is identified as yo... READ MORE
Celina, Waterstones Liverpool One
A Study in Drowning
Ideal read for autumn
I really enjoyed the slightly feel throughout this book. It's perfect if you're a fan of dark academia, fairy stories and foklore
Sarah Dagen
A Study in Drowning
This is a book which resists rush.
I took my time reading it and I found I really enjoyed it. Effy feels like a girl who has been left behind. She has been forced to study something in whic... READ MORE
Eilish at Rustington
A Study in Drowning
I came out of this book a changed person
this book was honestly the perfect read to get me in the mood for autumn (especially since the weather in it reminds me a lot of the wet seasons we like to... READ MORE
Heven (Islington bookseller)

Synopsis

Effy has always believed in fairy tales. She's had no choice. Since childhood, she's been haunted by visions of the Fairy King. She's found solace only in the pages of Angharad - a beloved epic about a mortal girl who falls in love with the Fairy King, and then destroys him. Effy's tattered copy is all that's keeping her afloat through her stifling first term at her prestigious architecture college. So when the late author's family announces a contest to design his house, Effy feels certain this is her destiny. But Hiraeth Manor is an impossible task: a musty, decrepit estate on the brink of crumbling into a hungry sea. And when Effy arrives, she finds she isn't the only one who's made a temporary home there. Preston Heloury, a stodgy young literature scholar, is studying Myrddin's papers and is determined to prove her favourite author is a fraud. As the two rival students investigate the reclusive author's legacy, piecing together clues through his letters, books, and diaries, they discover that the house's foundation isn't the only thing that can't be trusted. There are dark forces, both mortal and magical, conspiring against them - and the truth may bring them both to ruin.

  • Publisher: Cornerstone
  • ISBN: 2928377218614
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 500g
  • Dimensions: 222 x 138 x 40 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
A Study in Drowning
This book is now my whole personality
This is my first book by Ava and I was NOT disappointed! Her writing style is incredibly captivating and in this book she manages to weave together a beaut... READ MORE
Suraka Martinez
A Study in Drowning
A beautiful, haunting story that I didn't want to end.
Effy has been haunted by visions of the Fairy King since she was a child, with only the fairy story Angharad and sleeping pills to get her through the nigh... READ MORE
MakexBelieve
A Study in Drowning
atmospheric / gothic / mysterious
Favorite character: Preston Three words: atmospheric / gothic / mysterious Favorite quote: You don’t have to take up a sword. Survival is bravery, too. Th... READ MORE
Rina
A Study in Drowning
“Anything can be taken from you, at any moment. Even the past isn't guaranteed. You can lose that too, slowly, like water eating away at stone.”
“Anything can be taken from you, at any moment. Even the past isn't guaranteed. You can lose that too, slowly, like water eating away at stone.” Today we... READ MORE
@iam_addicted_to_books
A Study in Drowning
A fantastic read
Thank you for the opportunity to read this book, I absolutely loved this and the way the story was told. Effy could be any female who has felt belittled in... READ MORE
Sarah  Boyd
A Study in Drowning
Darkly atmospheric
A Study in Drowning was a fantastic read from cover to cover and it was especially atmospheric for the autumnal season of dark, rainy and windy nights. Thi... READ MORE
Micky - bookphenomena
A Study in Drowning
Ava Reid’s best book yet
I’ve read three books by Ava Reid now and this one is by far the best, it’s excellent. This is a wonderful, dark book about two students trying to uncover... READ MORE
Jennifer Charlton
A Study in Drowning
Atmospheric, Haunting, Beautifully Descriptive
(3.5 rounded up to 4.0) Euphemia (Effy) Sayre is an average architectural student, and is not happy in her studies. Her first love has always been literat... READ MORE
Kay
A Study in Drowning
Magical
“But stories were devious things, things with agendas. They could cheat and steal and lie to your face.” I love stories about stories. A Study in Drowning... READ MORE
Bente
A Study in Drowning
atmospheric / gothic / mysterious
Favorite character: Preston Three words: atmospheric / gothic / mysterious Favorite quote: You don’t have to take up a sword. Survival is bravery, too. Th... READ MORE
Rina
A Study in Drowning
Beautifully written and eerily atmospheric
Thank you, NetGalley, for the Advanced Reading Copy in exchange for an honest review. ☑ Beautifully written and eerily atmospheric, this is a coming-of-ag... READ MORE
Rachel Wood
A Study in Drowning
Gothic, dark and magical atmosphere
A Study in Drowning is Ava Reid’s debut into the world of YA and she truly delivers a dark academia fantasy that brims with magic, faerie, dark power, love... READ MORE
Christine Kelly
A Study in Drowning
Gothic and eerie- perfect for any season!
ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!! One of my new favourite books of ALL TIME! Effy and Preston made me feel all the emotions in this thrilling novel with a mystery at... READ MORE
Shijia MK
A Study in Drowning
Fairy, myth & fantasy
A good story that incorporates two people’s reality with fairy myth and fantasy. At times the story is quite dark and a little scary as all fae stories usu... READ MORE
Gillian Frost
A Study in Drowning
Gothic folklore, dark fae
I found A Study in Drowning a little slow-going at times, but it kept my interest. I loved Effy and Preston and their banter as they navigated working toge... READ MORE
Rebecca Ashton
A Study in Drowning
The perfect moody & dark fall read
I loved (almost) every minute of this book! It’s the perfect eerily atmospheric, moody, mysterious dark academia read for autumn! It’s haunting, beautiful... READ MORE
Winona Reitzer
A Study in Drowning
academic rivals-to-lovers, fae folklore, and dark academia vibes
What is a mermaid but a woman half-drowned, What is a selkie but an unwilling wife, What a tale but a sea-net, snatching up both From the gentle tumult of ... READ MORE
Lauren
A Study in Drowning
Stunning
I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of A Study in Drowning and it honestly, blew me away. The lore based world that Ava Reid has built is so captivating a... READ MORE
Emma Renshaw
A Study in Drowning
Great characters, great location, great book
Effy has read her copy of Emrys Myrddin’s Angharad so many times she can quote entire chunks of it verbatim. A student of architecture (because women aren’... READ MORE
Schizanthus  Nerd
A Study in Drowning
A Beautiful & Haunting Tale That Works On Numerous Levels
’She would have to trust, as she always had, the words written in Angharad, the happy ending it promised. So what about the million drowned men? So what ab... READ MORE
Charlotte Watkins
A Study in Drowning
Stunning
First of all, the physical book is beautiful. The naked hardback has a lovely design, and the sprayed edges are very nice. Quality is a 10/10. I absolut... READ MORE
Tayla Beinke
A Study in Drowning
One of my faves this year!
Thank you NetGalley and HarperAudio for approving my request for the A Study in Drowning audiobook! I have been a huge fan of Ava Reid since The Wolf and ... READ MORE
Marina Marcello