Alchemy

Alchemy

Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 06/07/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Alchemy
Fantastic historical fiction
A fantastic new episode in s.j.parris's historical fiction series. The setting and characters are highly detailed and evocative. The plot moves quickly, ke... READ MORE
Emily@waterstonestorquay

Synopsis

Prague, 1588. A court in turmoil The Holy Roman Emperor, Rudolf II, wants to expand the boundaries of human knowledge, and his court is a haven for scientists, astrologers and alchemists. His abiding passion is the feverish search for the philosopher's stone and thus immortality. The Catholic Church fears he has pushed too far, into the forbidden realm of heresy - and the greatest powers in Christendom are concerned about the imperial line of succession. A murdered alchemist Giordano Bruno is sent to his court by Sir Francis Walsingham, Elizabeth I's spymaster. His task: to contact the famous English alchemist and mystic John Dee, another of Walsingham's spies. But Bruno's arrival in Prague coincides with the brutal murder of a rival alchemist - and John Dee himself has disappeared. An unforgiving enemy Ordered by the emperor to find the killer, Bruno's investigations bring him face to face with an old enemy from the Inquisition. But could the real danger lie elsewhere? Amidst the jostling factions at court and the religious tensions brewing in the city, Bruno has to track down a murderer as elusive as the elixir of life itself.

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ISBN: 9780008208547
  • Number of pages: 480
  • Weight: 720g
  • Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 40 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Alchemy
Interesting and eventful historical thriller - an engaging read.
Dr Bruno arrives in Prague and becomes involved in the search for a murderer, the plot involving the Jewish community, alchemists, Catholic intervention an... READ MORE
Minette
Alchemy
Another superb read, lose oneself in a spymaster’s history
Thanks to Pigeonhole I read Alchemy by SJ Parris, which is seventh in a series of books with Giordano Bruno as the protagonist. Reading on the Pigeonhole a... READ MORE
Alison Cook
Alchemy
An excellent read! Highly recommend!
Another brilliant edition of the Giordano Bruno books by SJ Parris! Although after the previous one, Execution, this is only the second one I've read. Th... READ MORE
Amina Kara
Alchemy
Historical detective drama
S.J.Parris isn't just the best writer of historical fiction around, she's probably the best current writer of detective fiction albeit set in Elizabethan t... READ MORE
Aidan Dunn
Alchemy
The latest in this superb series of historical thrillers
My thanks to HarperCollins U.K. for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘Alchemy’ by S.J. Parris. This is the seventh in Parris’ series of historical political thril... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
Alchemy
Excellent historical read
The book, the next in this series, has ex-priest Giordano Bruno sent to the court of Rudolph II, Holy Roman Emperor to pass a message to his friend, John D... READ MORE
Gee Wood
Alchemy
Giordano Bruno investigates murder in 1588 Prague
It is 1588, and Giordano Bruno has arrived in Prague, ostensibly to contact Dr John Dee. But Dee has disappeared and his rival has been murdered. The dea... READ MORE
Denis
Alchemy
Alchemy by SK Parris
Prague, 1588, and once again, we are immersed in Bruno’s world, one full of intrigue and deception. This series is richly wrought, full of twists and turns... READ MORE
Catherine Bruce
Alchemy
Great series
This book does stand alone, but I think there’s added interest if you read the series from the beginning. The historical setting is really well presented, ... READ MORE
Rachel Annand
Alchemy
A really gripping series!!
At last, to be back in the world of Giordano Bruno! I love these books, even though 1588 may not be the best time to be alive with the Inquisition on poor ... READ MORE
Clare R
Alchemy
Simply a brilliant book
I read Alchemy by SJ Parris, which is seventh in a series of books with Giordano Bruno as the protagonist. Reading on the Pigeonhole app bookclub alongside... READ MORE
Alison Cook
Alchemy
Cracking historical thriller
The seventh in the Giordano Bruno mystery series set in the 16thC. In this episode Bruno has travelled to Prague at the behest of Sir Francis Walsingham t... READ MORE
Vanessa C Wild
Alchemy
Murder, Mystery and Mayhem.
Wow what a great read. This book has it all, murder, mystery and mayhem all set in Prague in 1588. This is historical fiction at its best. This is the seve... READ MORE
Gail Wylde
Alchemy
Murder, Mystery and Intrigue
Being a fan of SJ Parris, I was delighted to get the opportunity to read her latest Giordano Bruno escapade, via Pigeonhole. This one finds us heading to ... READ MORE
Denise Breton
Alchemy
Another great Giordano Bruno yarn
The Alchemist is the latest episode in the exploits of Giordano Bruno. The book is set in Prague in the early 1600s. The historical aspects of the relation... READ MORE
Rick Billingham
Alchemy
Dr Bruno's back! Wonderful characters and historical detail
It’s 1588 and Dr Giordano Bruno at Wittenburg University receives a communication from his old boss ‘spymaster’ Walsingham requesting that he goes to Pragu... READ MORE
GL
Alchemy
Turn up your collar and tread carefully along the streets of Prague
I don’t read many book series but Giordano Bruno is a character I happily return to. I was surprised to see it’s over 3 years since I read the last instalm... READ MORE
Anne O'Connell
Alchemy
Excellent historical read
The book, the next in this series, has ex-priest Giordano Bruno sent to the court of Rudolph II, Holy Roman Emperor to pass a message to his friend, John D... READ MORE
Gee Wood
Alchemy
Another excellent Giordano Bruno story.
Another excellent Giordano Bruno story, this time set in Prague. The story is nicely paced and very descriptive making you feel like you’re a part of the s... READ MORE
Barbara
Alchemy
Giordano Bruno investigates in Prague 1588
It’s 1588 and Dr Giordano Bruno at Wittenburg University receives a communication from his old boss ‘spymaster’ Walsingham requesting that he goes to Pragu... READ MORE
GL
Alchemy
Perfect combination of history and suspense
A great combination of historical fiction and crime, the writing really brings to life the spirit and feel of Prague in 1588 along with the political / rel... READ MORE
Sarah Burton
Alchemy
Dark Alleyways
I really loved this novel and its evocation of 16th Century Prague, with all its dark alleyways and twisty lanes. I particularly the way in which we are in... READ MORE
Sue Burnside
Alchemy
My favourite Giordano Bruno book yet!
I was sent a copy of Alchemy by S. J. Parris to read and review by NetGalley. I think that this is my favourite book in the Giordano Bruno series that I h... READ MORE
lesleys
Alchemy
Superb historical fiction
1588 and itinerant philosopher and spy Giordano Bruno is working at the University of Witternburg. He still wants patronage in England so when spymaster W... READ MORE
Jo-anne Atkinson
Alchemy
Yet another excellent book in this thrilling series!
Another great read from SJ Parris. Bruno is on another adventure and, as usual, there are many twists and turns in a well paced plot. He meets old enemies ... READ MORE
Julie McDonald
Alchemy
Very exciting story
Another great Historical Fiction story where history is brought back to life. Bruno excels once again and leads a great cast of characters. The story was f... READ MORE
Patricia Moren
Alchemy
Historical Fiction, Bruno series
Dr Giordano Bruno has been living relatively quietly in Germany, teaching at the university of Wittenberg, since we last met him in Sacrilege. I was deligh... READ MORE
Geraldine Smyth
Alchemy
Love this series
Another story in the 'life' of Bruno as he navigates his way through the trials of sixteenth century Europe. This time he is in Prague on his way to see hi... READ MORE
Cecilia Weston-Baker
Alchemy
Great read
Really enjoyed this; as suggested this is perfect for fans of CJ Sansom. Set amid the alchemical industry in Elizabethan times, Giordano Bruno finds him... READ MORE
Lucy Williams
Alchemy
Intrigue and deceit kill
To the best of my recollection – which is far from perfect – I’ve only read one other title in the author’s growing series of ‘Giodano Bruno’ thrillers: it... READ MORE
Robert of Canterbury