All This Will Be Lost

All This Will Be Lost

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 21/05/2015
£12.99
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
All This Will Be Lost
Powerful and arresting
1943 and journalist, John Easley, undercover to find his lost brother, has been shot down over the remote and stark Alaskan Aleutian Islands. Helen Easley ... READ MORE
Emma Smith at Bedford

Synopsis

A stunning tale of love and survival against all odds, for fans of Cold Mountain. Published in hardback as The Wind Is Not a River.

April 1943. In the bloody turmoil of war, John Easley, a journalist mourning his lost brother, is driven to expose a hidden and growing conflict: the Japanese invasion and occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands. But when his plane is shot down he must either surrender or struggle to survive in a harsh wilderness.
Three thousand miles to the south, Helen Easley cannot accept her husband's disappearance-an absence that exposes her sheltered, untested life. Desperate to find and be reunited with him, she sets out on a remarkable journey from the safety of her Seattle home to the war in the north.
An evocative, richly atmospheric tale of life and death, commitment and sacrifice, All This Will Be Lost, perfect for fans of Cold Mountain, is a gripping story of survival that illuminates the fragility of life and the fierce power of love.

'Beautifully written, lyrical and elegiac, [this] is a novel you must read . . . John Easley's struggle to survive and his wife Helen's struggle to find him form the most triumphant and heartbreaking love story I've read in years' David Vann, author of LEGEND OF A SUICIDE

  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 9781447242246
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Weight: 386g
  • Dimensions: 203 x 127 x 20 mm

Customer Reviews