Alter Ego

Alter Ego

Hardback Published on: 18/07/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'I adored Alter Ego. A book that can truly make you both laugh and cry. Written with such honesty and warmth, it's powerful, joyful, heartbreaking and so funny all at once. A brilliant debut' SARA NISHA ADAMS, author of The Reading List

'Every now and then a book comes along that changes the way you see the world, and this is one of them... Uplifting and angry, hilarious and heartbreaking. I absolutely adored it'FREYA SAMPSON, author of The Last Library

Six months ago, something happened that changed everything for Hattie. The next morning, she came up with The Plan. It was time for a whole new life. That's how Hattie ends up in a little cabin in the middle of nowhere, where the woodland stretches for miles and stars light up the night sky. Here, Hattie can be whoever she wants to be.

At two years old, Hattie was diagnosed with a condition that would alter the course of her life. Ever since then she's had to constantly explain herself and pretend that the pitying looks don't bother her.

If she wants The Plan to work, nobody back home can know why she really left, and nobody in her new life can know the truth about her.

But it's not long before she's caught in her lies - trapped between who she really is, and who she so desperately wants to be. When everything falls apart, can she piece herself back together?

If you've ever felt a little lost, wanted to hide, or struggled to accept yourself, you will see yourself in the pages of this book. Perfect for fans of Kirsty Capes and Daisy Buchanan, this unputdownable, hilarious and achingly relatable page-turner will break your heart, mend it anew and leave you with a smile on your face.

'An uncompromising, sharp and funny novel that took me from laughter to heart-aching tenderness... A fresh voice on the contemporary scene full of sharp insight and deeply funny bones' Abigail Mann, author of The Lonely Fajita

'Filled with heart and depth, this joyous book will stay with me for a very long time!' Tess Amy, author of The Confidence Games

'Sharp, witty and raw . . . This is a book everyone should pick off the shelves' Rebecca Netley, author ofThe Whistling

  • Publisher: Dialogue
  • ISBN: 9780349130620
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Weight: 460g
  • Dimensions: 218 x 146 x 36 mm

Customer Reviews