And Now the Light is Everywhere

And Now the Light is Everywhere

Fiction & Poetry, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 07/03/2024
£22.00
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
And Now the Light is Everywhere
crafting a fairytale-esque darkness that I AM THRILLED BY.
A beautiful debut of a multi-generational family with narratives across multiple points of time. It is a lovely piece, with complex imagery and mythologies... READ MORE
Ella-Mae from Lewes

Synopsis

'A vivid, involving and beautifully written story.' JOSEPH O'CONNOR
'A book that draws you in and holds you till the very end' ANNE GRIFFIN
'Sensitive and accurate . . . A page turner' JAMES ROBERTSON
'An eloquent novel . . . I was captivated' MARGOT LIVESEY

For fans of Ann Patchett, Maggie O'Farrell and Louise Kennedy comes And Now the Light is Everywhere: a breath-taking mystery and a soaring, beautifully written examination of love in all its guises.

******

Where does a story end and the truth begin?

Argyll, 1998.

Stories run deep in the MacArthur family, passed from generation to generation. Tales not just of selkies and changelings, but of the lives and deaths of the family themselves. Anna MacArthur has heard how her beautiful grandmother Netta boarded a ship for Canada after the war, leaving behind her young son Donnie, and was never seen again.

Now, fifty years after her disappearance, Anna accidentally pulls a loose thread in the story of Netta's fate, causing the tale of her vanishing to unravel completely. As Anna pieces together a far more disquieting version of events, she is also forced to examine her own memories of her father Donnie's death.

Yet the truth is sometimes bent and buried for a reason. And bringing to light what some have concealed for years may not be free of consequences . . .

'Classic story-telling bathed in a generous light . . . it moves so confidently between lives and epochs it easy not to realise at first how cleverly it's put together, how effectively the different stories intersect and echo. It's poignant and funny, and marks Lucy out as an exciting and ambitious writer of real talent.' ANDREW MILLER

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781399707466
  • Number of pages: 480
  • Weight: 730g
  • Dimensions: 236 x 164 x 46 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
And Now the Light is Everywhere
An intriguing debut novel
And Now The Light is Everywhere is a debut novel but never feels it - the writing is beautiful and very confident. The story, set in rural Argyll in Scotla... READ MORE
Rachel
And Now the Light is Everywhere
Family bonds and folk tales
Set in Argyll Scotland 1998, and moving backwards and forwards in time, telling of the story, learning about the characters and how they fit into the story... READ MORE
Always Happiest Reading
And Now the Light is Everywhere
Caledonian gothic!
The McArthur family have lived in their small farmhouse for generations, eking out an existence and buoyed by family ties and secrets. When Arthur John di... READ MORE
Jo-anne Atkinson
And Now the Light is Everywhere
A stunning debut novel
Beautifully written. The family stories and secrets are revealed slowly, keeping you interested until the very end. A very enjoyable read.
Rosalind McCord