Around the World in 80 Trees

Around the World in 80 Trees

Non-Fiction, Languages & Reference, Dictionaries & Reference, Natural World & Environment, Nature Guides, Trees, Plants & Fungi
Paperback Published on: 16/03/2020
£12.99
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Around the World in 80 Trees
Fascinating snippets of info about our more popular trees
I was so privileged to receive a reading copy of Around the World in 80 Trees from Laurence King Publishing, and it even came with a beautiful poster. Eve... READ MORE
Big Bearded Bookseller

Synopsis

"Beautiful to behold and to read" - THE SUNDAY TIMES"An arboreal odyssey" - NATURE"One of the most quietly beautiful books of the year" - DAILY MAIL"Jonathan Drori's deep-seated love of nature is contagious in this tree-by-tree journey across countries and continents. A book to take your time over" - WIREDJonathan Drori’s number one bestseller, now available in paperback!Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe.In Around the World in 80 Trees, Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable. From the trees of Britain, to India's sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration - not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup.Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin's Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees' soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water.Each of these strange and true tales - populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts - is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful. The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail - there should be surprises for everyone.Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben's The Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit your local botanic garden. The perfect travel guide for nature enthusiasts.Winner at the Woodland Books of the Year Awards 2018."An irresistible mix of science, culture, botany, history and vicarious travel" - SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781786276063
  • Number of pages: 240
  • Dimensions: 232 x 150 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Around the World in 80 Trees
Intelligently written, informative and beautifully presented.
This book is about trees of the world. It is not about notable individuals, but about tree species. Organised by geographic distribution, each entry descri... READ MORE
Amanda Read
Around the World in 80 Trees
80 tales. 80 trees. WORLD
Eighty tales of trees from around the world. Looking for a present of someone who loves trees and wants to find out a little more about them, their plac... READ MORE
TripFiction