Beneath a Burning Sky

Beneath a Burning Sky

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 29/06/2017
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'A summer must-read' Red 'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies, author of number one bestselling The Tea Planter's Wife 'This story of twists and turns transcends era and genre. Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher, author of The Silent Wife 'A must for fans of first-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan, author of My Sister's Secret 'Beautifully described ...A moving love story' Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow 'Exquisitely written ...unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost A beautiful and gripping story of love and betrayal and mystery that ticks all the boxes. Perfect for fans of Patricia Wilson, Dinah Jefferies and Rosanna Ley. When twenty-two-year-old Olivia is coerced into marriage by the cruel Alistair Sheldon she leaves England for Egypt, his home and the land of her own childhood. Reluctant as she is to go with Alistair, it's in her new home that she finds happiness in surprising places: she is reunited with her long-estranged sister, Clara, and falls - impossibly and illicitly - in love with her husband's boarder, Captain Edward Bertram. Then Clara is abducted from one of the busiest streets in the city. Olivia is told it's thieves after ransom money, but she's convinced there's more to it. As she sets out to discover what's happened to the sister she's only just begun to know, she falls deeper into the shadowy underworld of Alexandria, putting her own life, and her chance at a future with Edward, the only man she's ever loved, at risk. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her ...Beneath a Burning Sky is a novel of secrets, betrayal and, above all else, love. Set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria, this beautiful and heart-wrenching story will take your breath away.

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780751565034
  • Number of pages: 416
  • Weight: 290g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 127 x 27 mm

Customer Reviews