Blue Ticket

Blue Ticket

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror , Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 06/05/2021
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Blue Ticket
Hypnotic and disturbing
This is a beautifully sparse read. Mackintosh doesn't feel the need for weighty explanations or worldbuilding - indeed it's never actually stated what coun... READ MORE
Hazel at Oxford

Synopsis

From the author longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and the Women's Prize for Fiction and selected as one of the Best Young British Novelists of the Decade:An unsettling and addictive feminist fable for fans of Hot Milk, Unsettled Ground and Klara and the Sun Recommended by Stylist, Evening Standard,Esquire, Red, Daily Mail, Oprah Magazine, LitHub, and Belletrist Book Club'Be sure to read everything Sophie Mackintosh writes' Deborah Levy'Definitely don't miss the return of Sophie Mackintosh' StylistCalla knows how the lottery works. Everyone does. On the day of your first bleed, you report to the lottery station to learn what kind of woman you will be. A white ticket grants you children. A blue ticket grants you freedom. You are relieved of the terrible burden of choice. Or, to put it another way, you have no choice. And once you've taken your ticket, there is no going back.But what if the life you're given is the wrong one? Blue Ticket is a devastating enquiry into free will and the fraught space of motherhood. Bold and chilling, it pushes beneath the skin of female identity and patriarchal violence, to the point where human longing meets our animal bodies.'Dreamlike, tense, compelling, [with] a pitch-perfect ending' The New York Times'Gripping, ethereal, atmospheric' Sunday Times'Thoughtful and haunting' Observer'Terrifying and enchanting in equal measure' LitHub'Blue Ticket will worms its way under your skin and haunt your dreams' Red

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9780241986691
  • Number of pages: 304
  • Weight: 213g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 18 mm

Customer Reviews