City of the Sun

City of the Sun

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 21/05/2009
£16.99
Not available
This product is currently unavailable
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

Fans of Lee Child and Harlan Coben will love this gripping, moody and heart-stoppingly tense crime thriller from Hollywood screenwriter David Levien.

"Heart-stopping suspense and a heartbreaking story" - LEE CHILD
"Relentless suspense that will not let you out of its grasp, and a cast of characters who are so utterly real you'll forget you're reading fiction. David Levien's novel is moody, riveting, and special" - Harlan Coben
"Gripping . . . Levien's skill is to chart the emotional plight of the parents within the twists and turns of a fast-moving and complex plot" - MIRROR
"This story gripped me right from the start" -- ***** Reader review
"Incredible!! Couldn't put it down..." -- ***** Reader review

***************************************************************************
HOW FAR WILL ONE MAN GO TO FIND A MISSING CHILD?

Twelve-year-old Jamie Gabriel gets on his bike before dawn to deliver newspapers in his suburban neighbourhood. Somewhere en route, he vanishes without a trace.

Fourteen months later, still with no sign of Jamie and having lost all faith in the police, his parents Paul and Carol are on the verge of abandoning hope. Then they meet private investigator Frank Behr, a tough, reclusive ex-cop.

Abandoned by his former colleagues, separated from his wife and haunted by his own terrible past, Behr doesn't make it a practice to take on hopeless cases, but the desperate couple's plea for help awakens a personal pain he can't ignore . . .

  • Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • ISBN: 9780552159685
  • Number of pages: 512
  • Weight: 346g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 31 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
City of the Sun
City of the Sun
An emotionally charged, compulsive crime novel. 'The most impressive crime debut of the year' Evening Standard
SARAH TURNER
City of the Sun
City of the Sun
I thought this book was fantasitc - couldn't put it down from start to finish - a real page turner. I really felt for Jamie's parents - everyone's worst ... READ MORE
Penny Rayner
City of the Sun
City of the Sun
I thought this book was fantasitc - couldn't put it down from start to finish - a real page turner. I really felt for Jamie's parents - everyone's worst ... READ MORE
Penny Rayner
City of the Sun
City of the Sun
WOW! This book has had me gripped since I was given it just before lunch today, so much so that I have read it! . . . I just couldn't put this book down . ... READ MORE
Jeanette Slinger
City of the Sun
City of the Sun
A decent if uninspired thriller that introduces us to Frank Behr, a tough ex-cop now working as a private investigator. The plot line centres on the abduct... READ MORE
David Kohn