DallerGut Dream Department Store

DallerGut Dream Department Store

Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 09/11/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Studio Ghibili meets Superstore
The Dallergut Dream Department Store by Mi-Yee Lee is a whimsical and joyfully humorous look into the world of our dreams. I loved the idea that are dre... READ MORE
Lisa Hurd
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Sweet Dreams Are Made Of This
This was completely bizarre and absolutely wonderful. I loved the concept, the characters and the world building was amazing. It was wholesome, gentle and... READ MORE
Chrys - Plymouth
DallerGut Dream Department Store
A stunningly whimsical and cosy read!
This was a gloriously cosy story full of whimsy and magic, which would be perfect for fans of Toshikazu Kawaguchi’s Before the Coffee Gets Cold. I loved th... READ MORE
Chloe at Meadowhall
DallerGut Dream Department Store
magical, dreamy, cosy
This is such a beautiful novel, from the first page I knew I was going to love it! I loved how Penny's journey working in the dream store was intertwine... READ MORE
Amoy Daley, Waterstones Leamington Spa
DallerGut Dream Department Store
The closest magical-realism
As soon as I saw this cover, I knew I had to read this book. You follow Penny as she begins her new job at the Dallergut Dream Department Store, helping cu... READ MORE
Sarah Baddeley
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Perfect for fans of Days at the Morisaki Bookshop and the Before the Coffee Gets Cold series!
This was a fun, heartfelt and heartwarming story set in a department store full of dreams... Dallergut Dream Department Store is the ULTIMATE comfort read... READ MORE
Léa at Brighton
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Cosy, comforting and gentle
I really enjoyed this! It was very cosy and comforting, and I really love the concept of being able to control and choose our dreams. The characters I thin... READ MORE
Millie Slingsby
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Wholesome and emotional!
Well this had me unexpectedly crying like a baby! This has the typical wholesome feel of alot of Korean novels, whilst also touching on themes of loss, lon... READ MORE
Naomi

Synopsis

In a mysterious town that lies hidden in our collective subconscious, there's a quaint little store where all kinds of dreams are sold ... Day and night, visitors both human and animal from all over the world shuffle in sleepily in their pyjamas, lining up to purchase their latest adventure. Each floor in the department store sells a special kind of dream, including nostalgic dreams about your childhood, trips you've taken, and delicious food you've eaten, as well as nightmares and more mysterious dreams. In DallerGut Dream Department Store we meet Penny an enthusiastic new hire; DallerGut, the flamboyant owner of the department store; Mrs. Weather, Penny's reliable confidante; Vigo Myers, an employee in the mystery department as well as a cast of curious, funny and strange clientele who regularly visit the store. When one of the most coveted and expensive dreams gets stolen during Penny's first week, we follow along with her as she tries to uncover the workings of this wonderfully whimsical world. A captivating story that will leave a lingering magical feeling in readers' minds, this is the first book in a bestselling duology for anyone exhausted from the reality of their daily life.

  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9781035412730
  • Number of pages: 256
  • Weight: 268g
  • Dimensions: 216 x 136 x 24 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
DallerGut Dream Department Store
DallerGut Dream Department Store
So yeah, what drew me to this book. Well, obviously the wonderful cover and the intriguing title of course. Swiftly followed by the rather bonkers blurb. I... READ MORE
Ashrae
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Take a trip into a whimsical dreamland
If you like whimsy, quirky and fantastical world-building, then this could be the book for you! The story begins by introducing us to Penny, who is appl... READ MORE
Sarah Pearce
DallerGut Dream Department Store
In the fantasy universe of sleep…
In the fantasy universe of sleep, populated with furry creatures, leprechauns, and people with out-of-this-world names there is a special town famous for i... READ MORE
Ellie  Pe
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Magical realism at its most heartwarming
Wow, what an absolute dream of a novel. A beautifully captivating escape from the real world. The characters are endearing and the story is lovely. Magical... READ MORE
T Edwards
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Pure whimsical JOY!
AD/PR - Dallergut Dream Department Store didn’t even get to touch any of my unread books before I devoured it. I loooove cosy translated fiction, I absolut... READ MORE
Kayleigh  Leightley
DallerGut Dream Department Store
Whimsical, hopeful and inspiring
Thank you, NetGalley for sending this book for review consideration. All opinions are my own. In a mysterious town hidden in our subconscious, there’s a... READ MORE
Nicole Chun