Date with Justice

Date with Justice

Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 04/04/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

Date with Justice, the ninth novel in Julia's Chapman's witty and engaging Dales Detective series, sees Delilah's brother under suspicion of murder. Can Delilah and Samson prove he's innocent?

The Dales Detective Agency is on the brink of closure.

Samson O’Brien has returned to his position as an undercover operative for the Met in London, and his relationship with sleuthing partner Delilah Metcalfe is under pressure.

Their troubles are only multiplied when an ecologist is found dead and the finger of blame is pointed firmly at Delilah’s older brother, Will.

It seems an open and shut case. An argument over an ecology report for planning permission which got out of hand, with Will known to have a hot temper. But Delilah won’t accept he’s guilty and neither will Samson.

Dropping everything, he returns to Bruncliffe to help prove Will’s innocence. But as the two detectives start digging, they unearth more than they bargained for and soon realize that the price of justice can be very costly indeed.

Following on from Date With Evil, this heart-warming and wittily charming novel is perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Robert Thorogood and cosy crime at its very best.

'Bags of Northern charm and wit' - Northern Echo

  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 9781529095432
  • Number of pages: 416
  • Weight: 282g
  • Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 25 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Date with Justice
Cosy murder mystery
I loved reading this 9th instalment of the Dales Detective Agency. It is a gentle read, like a warm cup of Cocoa, a perfect holiday read. It is fine as a s... READ MORE
Dagmar Williams
Date with Justice
Well plotted book
This is one of a series of books starring Delilah and Samson and the Dales Detective Agency. It was quite a claustrophobic read, as it is set in a small vi... READ MORE
Susan Care
Date with Justice
The best in this great series so far
This excellent series goes from strength to strength, I think this is the best book so far. The emotive story moves at a cracking pace, set in the Dales ... READ MORE
Avid reader
Date with Justice
Unputdownable
Another gripping story in the Delilah and Samson saga which had everything. Although I guessed the outcome it was still worth reading for all the twists an... READ MORE
Pauline Moffat
Date with Justice
Overjoyed to back in the cosy, if somewhat murdery, Dales town of Bruncliffe!
I was apprehensive going into this, the ninth instalment of the Dales Detective murder mystery series. While most of the cases our detective duo Samson an... READ MORE
J O'Brien
Date with Justice
Date with more Delight!
Date with Justice by Julia Chapman was a delight from beginning to end. After having felt weighed down by the unremitting gloom and complexity of some of t... READ MORE
Jane Sandell
Date with Justice
Gentle murder mystery set in the Yorkshire Dales
I loved reading this 9th instalment of the Dales Detective Agency. It is a gentle read, like a warm cup of Cocoa, a perfect holiday read. It is fine as a s... READ MORE
Dagmar Williams
Date with Justice
The best of the series so far!
An excellent read! This series gets better and better. The characters are amiable and at times it’s like reading about old friends . Delilah and Sam... READ MORE
Zoe Hitchen