Death and the Brewery Queen

Death and the Brewery Queen: Book 12 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 29/10/2020
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves A call for helpIt's the spring of 1930 and Private Investigator Kate Shackleton responds to a call for help from the owner of Barleycorn Brewery in the North Riding of Yorkshire. The brewery's books don't add up, but when the one employee who may know what's really going on meets with a fatal accident, Kate's investigation intensifies.A second bodyOn the day of the brewery garden party, amidst celebrations for the newly crowned Yorkshire Brewery Queen, Kate opens the wrong door and finds herself staring at another body - and in danger of asphyxiation. A secret to die forIt's clear there are secrets somebody would kill to keep buried. And with the Brewery Queen's growing reputation bringing Barleycorn further into the spotlight, Kate's wit, skill and passion for the truth are tested to the limits. Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.What readers are saying about the Kate Shackleton mysteries:'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger'Delightful' People's Friend'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner,Daily Mail'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780349423081
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Weight: 255g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 28 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Death and the Brewery Queen
Great
I wasn't really in the mood for the previous book (the body on the train) when I read it. I struggled with it at first but once I got a third of the way in... READ MORE
Book collector
Death and the Brewery Queen
A highly enjoyable book that happens to be a mystery
Death and the Brewery Queen by Frances Brody is superb. The story is centred on the fictional Barleycorn Brewery in the real town of Masham, Yorkshire. Rut... READ MORE
Colin Edwards
Death and the Brewery Queen
Very good read!
1930s, england, private-investigators, law-enforcement, greed, historical-research It's 1930 and Kate is a widow who was a nurse in WW1 but has been worki... READ MORE
Janice Tangen
Death and the Brewery Queen
Mine's a pint of nut brown ale, please!
In their 12th outing, Kate and Sykes are trying to find a missing nephew for the owner of Barleycorn Brewery, but things at the Brewery are not all they se... READ MORE
Lisa
Death and the Brewery Queen
Death and the Brewery Queen Frances.... Brody
Latest book in Kate Shackleton series definitely reccomend it ...looking forward to the next one ...always a good storyline...throughly enjoyed it
Anne Bennett