Dying In The Wool

Dying In The Wool: Book 1 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 01/10/2009
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Dying In The Wool
Classically cosy crime.
A wonderfully written classic crime novel, quintessentially english packed with wonderful characters, intriguing mysteries and enough twists and turns to k... READ MORE
Penelope Bullock at Lancaster

Synopsis

The first mystery in the bestselling Kate Shackleton crime series! A Golden Age murder mystery set in 1920s Yorkshire, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Verity Bright. Take one quiet Yorkshire Village, add a measure of mystery, a sprinkling of scandal and Kate Shackleton - amateur sleuth extraordinaire!Bridgestead is a quiet village: a babbling brook, rolling hills and a working mill at its heart. Pretty and remote, nothing exceptional happens, except for the day when Joshua Braithwaite, goes missing in dramatic circumstances, never to be heard of again.Now Joshua's daughter is getting married and wants one last attempt at finding her father. Has he run off with his mistress, or was he murdered for his mounting coffers? Kate Shackleton has always loved solving puzzles. So who better to get to the bottom of Joshua's mysterious disappearance? But as Kate taps into the lives of the Bridgestead dwellers, she opens cracks that some would kill to keep closed . . .Praise for Frances Brody:'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' DAILY MAIL'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' ANN CLEEVES'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' ANN GRANGER'Delightful' PEOPLE'S FRIEND'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT BOOK REVIEWS'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' LITERARY REVIEW

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780749941871
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Weight: 250g
  • Dimensions: 199 x 131 x 24 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Dying In The Wool
Mystery at' mill
Kate Shackleton, war widow & amateur sleuth, is asked by a friend from her VAD days to find her father who has gone missing in dramatic circumstances. Ther... READ MORE
Peter H
Dying In The Wool
Good
Introducing Kate shackleton in a good, well written mystery. I enjoyed the book. The characters are great and I like the 1920's setting. All of Kate's sce... READ MORE
Book collector
Dying In The Wool
Agatha Christie style
I always enjoy a nostalgic novel and this is set in the 1920's ,I enjoyed the storyline and the characters. Set in Yorkshire around the mills area of the w... READ MORE
Graham Magee