Echoes of the Runes

Echoes of the Runes

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 05/03/2020
£10.99
We can order this from the publisher
Usually dispatched within 2 weeks
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'Fabulous. Highly recommended for fans of Barbara Erskine and Susanna Kearsley - and if you want a thumping good read' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ reader review

'Wow! This book should come with warning! It's almost as addictive as chocolate!' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ reader review

Winner of the 2021 RNA Romantic Fantasy Novel Award.

Brimming with romance, adventure and vivid historical detail, Christina Courtenay does for the Vikings what Diana Gabaldon's Outlander and Clanlans does for Scottish history.
...........................................................................

Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.

When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother's summer cottage, Birch Thorpe, in Sweden, she faces a dilemma. Her fiance Charles urges her to sell and buy a swanky London home, but Mia cannot let it go easily. The request to carry out an archaeological dig for more Viking artefacts like the gold ring Mia's grandmother also left her, offers her a reprieve from a decision - and from Charles.

Whilst Mia becomes absorbed in the dig's discoveries, she finds herself drawn to archaeologist Haakon Berger. Like her, he can sense the past inhabitants whose lives are becoming more vivid every day. Trying to resist the growing attraction between them, Mia and Haakon begin to piece together the story of a Welsh noblewoman, Ceri, and the mysterious Viking, known as the 'White Hawk', who stole her away from her people in 869 AD.

As the present begins to echo the past, and enemies threaten Birch Thorpe's inhabitants, they will all have to fight to protect what has become most precious to each of them...
...........................................................................

Just some of the rich praise for Christina Courtenay:

'Completely magical' NICOLA CORNICK

'A rich, dual-timeline story that totally drew me in' SUE MOORCROFT

'A fabulous adventure, with characters I loved!' JO THOMAS

'Courtenay's writing brings the past vividly to life, using dual-period narrative to brilliant effect' Historical Novels Review

'I was compelled to read on as I was caught up in the adventure, intrigue and romance of the dual timelines' SUE FORTIN

'Sparklingly authentic - and page-turning' MAGGIE SULLIVAN

'Rich in Viking history...intrigue, adventure and romance' GLYNIS PETERS

'Christina Courtenay weaves the threads of her contemporary and Viking love stories together expertly and the novel moves along at a cracking pace. The characters are appealing and the rural Swedish setting is engaging' JUDITH LENNOX

  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9781472268266
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Weight: 258g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Echoes of the Runes
I strongly recommend it
A engrossing and entertaining novel that made me dream and root for the characters. I loved every moment of it and was sad when it ended. I rooted for the ... READ MORE
AMG
Echoes of the Runes
A great storya
A time slip story, between the 9th century and the 21st century Sweden. Mia and Haakon, are archeologists. When Mia's grandmother died she leaves mia her c... READ MORE
Samantha Redworth
Echoes of the Runes
A must read
When Mia is left her grandmothers cottage Birch Thorpe in Sweden Haakan Berger wants to do an archeological dig there as a suitable Viking settlement. As ... READ MORE
Bookread2day
Echoes of the Runes
Wonderful
An absolute joy to read, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A time slip story line that was very well done, fabulous setting, well written with fantastic char... READ MORE
Amanda Gee