Edge of the Grave

Edge of the Grave

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 02/09/2021
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month for September 2021

Shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger 2022

Winner of the Bloody Scotland Scottish Crime Debut of the Year 2021

Shortlisted for The Bloody Scotland Debut of the Year 2021

Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city's wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case - despite sharing a troubled history with the victim's widow, Isla Lockhart.

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow's gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner 'Bonnie' Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead and why.

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer - or lose his own life in the process?

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 9781529054033
  • Number of pages: 416
  • Weight: 296g
  • Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 31 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Edge of the Grave
Brilliant
I am thoroughly enjoying this! Highly recommend.
Marilena
Edge of the Grave
The Edge of the Grave by Robby Morrison
Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison was a taut, hard look at Glasgow between the two world wars. The policing, the gangs, the hard men and those of privil... READ MORE
Christine Rennie
Edge of the Grave
Edge of the Grave
Thoroughly enjoyable and believable gritty Scottish crime novel set in the 1930’s, I hope there will be more to come.
HelenS
Edge of the Grave
New historical Scottish noir
Scottish-noir, Glasgow, historical-novel, historical-places-events, historical-research, history-and-culture, 1932, first-in-series, new-series, law-enforc... READ MORE
Janice Tangen
Edge of the Grave
A startling, brutal and essential historical thriller
Robbie Morrison has a reputation for sharp storytelling. A British comics veteran, as well as being something of a history buff; his 2000AD serial epic, "N... READ MORE
WilWritesReviews