Emergency Contact

Emergency Contact

Children's, New & Recommended, Teenage & Young Adult
Paperback Published on: 07/11/2019
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

'Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book' - Rainbow Rowell------------------------------------------From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory - perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.For Penny Lee high school was a total non-event. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a million light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his bank account and his dying laptop are really testing him. When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch - via text - and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780349003467
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Weight: 280g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 32 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Emergency Contact
Endearing read
This book is sweet, easy to read and inoffensive. Choi writes effortlessly, making it easy to forget it's fiction. Young love in a realistic way. Very enjo... READ MORE
Erin Griffin