Fathomfolk

Fathomfolk

Hardback Published on: 29/02/2024
RRP £18.99
£16.99
Save £2.00 (11%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Fathomfolk
Gripping fantasy debut set in a whole new world
Tiankawi is a city half-submerged in the sea. Nearby lies the underwater Fathomfolk-haven of Yonakuni. But with increasing unrest in the Fathomfolk territo... READ MORE
Martha
Fathomfolk
A Fantastic Debut!
Fathomfolk weaves an excellent tale of repression and uprising against a beautiful backdrop of a flooded city. Featuring an all-female line-up of protagoni... READ MORE
Adam

Synopsis

Revolution is brewing in the semi-submerged city of Tiankawi, between humans and the fathomfolk - sirens, sea witches, kelpies, and kappas - who live in its waters. This debut fantasy inspired by East Asian mythology and watery folk tales is perfect for fans of Jade City, The Bone Shard Daughter and House of Earth and Blood. Welcome to Tiankawi - shining pearl of human civilization and a safe haven for those fleeing civil unrest. Or at least, that's how it first appears. But in the semi-flooded city, humans are, quite literally, on top: peering down from shining towers and aerial walkways on the fathomfolk - sirens, seawitches, kelpies and kappas - who live in the polluted waters below. For half-siren Mira, promotion to captain of the border guard means an opportunity to help her downtrodden people. But if earning the trust and respect of her human colleagues wasn't hard enough, everything Mira has worked towards is put in jeopardy when Nami, a know-it-all water dragon - fathomfolk royalty - is exiled to the city. When extremists sabotage the annual boat race, violence erupts, as does the clampdown on fathomfolk rights. Both Nami and Mira must decide if the cost of change is worth paying, or if Tiankawi should be left to drown.

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780356522395
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Weight: 680g
  • Dimensions: 236 x 158 x 44 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Fathomfolk
4.25 ⭐️ A modern and meaningful urban fantasy infused with myth and magic
This book was so much more than I anticipated and was far from just another fantasy book. This was a really powerful urban fantasy with a rich, expertly cr... READ MORE
BooksWithBoz
Fathomfolk
The human world, it's a mess.
The Fathomfolk are all the people of the sea, be they sirens, kelpies, or even the highest of water dragons. The partially submerged city of Tiankawi gladl... READ MORE
James Thomson
Fathomfolk
Very good fantasy tale - engaging and original.
This story takes place in either a post-apocalyptic earth or a made-up fantasy world in which the population is divided between humans and fathomfolk, fish... READ MORE
Minette
Fathomfolk
Love the water theme
Eliza Chan's debut, "Fathomfolk," submerges readers into the enchanting city of Tiankawi, where towering human structures cast shadows on the fathomfolk dw... READ MORE
melissa ann Gordon
Fathomfolk
A captivating debut!
I adored this book! The world building & city of Tiankawi brought this book alive, every part of the city & it's people were fascinating. The urban fantasy... READ MORE
Leah