Ghana Must Go

Ghana Must Go

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 02/01/2014
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Ghana Must Go
Ghana Must Go
This is beautiful. That's the only way I can describe this début novel. Following the members of the broken Sai family as they come to terms with the death... READ MORE
Becky Bookseller
Ghana Must Go
Extremely enjoyable, warm and impressive debut.
Ghana Must Go isn't the sort of book I would normally pick up and read by choice. I've never really tried anything of this genre before, but having committ... READ MORE
Joe at Doncaster
Ghana Must Go
Stunning
This is beautiful. That's the only way I can describe this début novel. Following the members of the broken Sai family as they come to terms with the death... READ MORE
BeckyV
Ghana Must Go
Engrossing...
A brilliant surgeon from Ghana, trained in the USA, loses his job and cannot face the shame of one of his sons seeing him thrown out of the hospital. He ru... READ MORE
JSimpson
Ghana Must Go
A New Favourite
This novel grabbed me from the first page and didn't let me go until I'd reached the last. It is beautiful, rich and engaging, tracing a family history wit... READ MORE
Min Wells at Finchley Road O2
Ghana Must Go
Taiye Selasi - Coolest woman in the world?
I love this book. I read it twice in a very short space of time. Most obviously this is a story about family. It is also a story about rifts, about hidden ... READ MORE
Alice Baynton at Aberystwyth

Synopsis

A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, Ghana Must Go is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.Meet the Sais, a Nigerian-Ghanaian family living in the United States. A family prospering until the day father and surgeon Kweku Sai is victim of a grave injustice. Ashamed, he abandons his beautiful wife Fola and their little boys and girls, causing the family to fracture and spiral out into the world - New York, London, West Africa, New England - on uncertain, troubled journeys until, many years later, tragedy unites them. Now this broken family has a chance to heal - but can the Sais take it?'Ghana Must Go is both a fast moving story of one family's fortunes and an ecstatic exploration of the inner lives of its members. With her perfectly-pitched prose and flawless technique, Selasi does more than merely renew our sense of the African novel: she renews our sense of the novel, period. An astonishing debut' Teju Cole, author of Open City

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9780670919888
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 234g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Ghana Must Go
deep thoughtful book
I have to admit hat this book was far too disjointed for me.The plot ran round the death that started the book and the various people that his life had tou... READ MORE
carol810
Ghana Must Go
its ok
It would probably be an amazing read for a reader who likes this style of writing. unfortunately it wasn't my cup of tea. I found it hard to get in to and ... READ MORE
wakefield reads
Ghana Must Go
A difficult book to get into
This is a book that spans the globe, moving from London, to new York, to Ghana and back. It also attempts to move through the generations, as each member o... READ MORE
Anne Watkinson
Ghana Must Go
Not my cuppa
By the time I reached half way through this book I decided to put it down. The plot was very hard to follow and Selasi goes into great detail without there... READ MORE
Danyell
Ghana Must Go
Ghana Must Go
I found this a difficult book to read, it started with long rambling sentences and switched form person to person in such a way that it was hard to keep tr... READ MORE
Rabid Reader
Ghana Must Go
A Gripping Novel about Family and Movement
'Ghana Must Go' is a brilliant novel of transatlanticism - documenting the movements of one broken family to and from the East Coast of the US to Ghana and... READ MORE
Jess, Bookseller Brighton
Ghana Must Go
Hard Going
I am sure this book would be brilliant for people who enjoy books of this genre, but for me it was too hard to get into. There were lots of characters, non... READ MORE
KerryJayne
Ghana Must Go
boring and confusing
I was aware of great reviews for this book, both in print and on the radio so was looking forward to reading it when asked to review it. Now I 've been try... READ MORE
quizqueen
Ghana Must Go
A good read!
The book started quite slowly,and I had to concentrate on the changes in perspective as the opening narration changed between characters but once I got int... READ MORE
Kmrkjr
Ghana Must Go
Captivating!
The story starts slowly, describing in detail the death of a father and the events that lead to the tragedy. The reader is given access to the father's fee... READ MORE
The Girl Who Collects Shells
Ghana Must Go
Enormous in scope, precise in heart.
I’ll admit that it took me a few pages to get into the rhythm of the narrative due to an abundance of long and disjointed sentences at the start, but eithe... READ MORE
Leilah at Doncaster
Ghana Must Go
Strangely unsatisfying
A father deserts his family and everything starts to fall apart. He dies and it all gets put back together again. This book is about that and what goes on ... READ MORE
Mykh
Ghana Must Go
Assured and moving debut
I read a lot of debut novels. I find it astounding that first novels are often as powerful and well-written as they are. When I was sent this to review by ... READ MORE
KatyNoyes
Ghana Must Go
What was The Times reviewer reading?!
Wonderful novel from an astonishing new writer. Her prose is poetry; it is rhythmic and cadenced. Everything written about this book is accurate EXCEPT the... READ MORE
Teboho