Henry Henry

Henry Henry

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Hardback Published on: 02/05/2024
RRP £16.99
£14.99
Save £2.00 (12%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Henry Henry
Gut wrenchingly good
This book absolutely floored me. Henry Henry is a queer reimagining of Shakespeare’s Henriad, set in London, 2014. Admittedly I don’t know a lot about Shak... READ MORE
Emily
Henry Henry
Don’t judge a book by it’s cover
Behind the pastel cartoon cover hides a fascinating and heart wrenching book, perfect for fans of Ottessa Moshfegh and My Dark Vanessa. Full of dark humour... READ MORE
Lore at Enfield
Henry Henry
A baggy concept, too much smut, but a moving finale
I'll preface this by saying I'm a lover of the Henriad plays, of anachronistic resettings or queerings of historical texts. This is all to say that I think... READ MORE
Archie at Wells
Henry Henry
Exciting debut
Allen Bratton's debut novel, a queer retelling of Shakespeare's Henry IV plays, makes clever use of the characters and situations of the source material bu... READ MORE
Jonathan in Cambridge
Henry Henry
A visceral look at duty, faith, and expectations
Henry Henry is primarily a story of failure. Young Hal Lancaster is wasting his life and potential on drink and drugs. His father is the head of a totally ... READ MORE
Jack at Glasgow Argyle Street

Synopsis

Meet Hal: twenty-two, gay, Catholic, chops lines of cocaine with his myWaitrose card - and reluctant heir to the noble House of Lancaster

'Very funny... Its deeply felt pages flew by' GUARDIAN

'Dark and gripping... I couldn't put it down' DAILY MAIL

Hal's father Henry, the sixteenth Duke of Lancaster, is half tyrant, half martyr. His investment in his eldest son has grown into an obsession. While Hal floats between internships and drinking sessions, Henry keeps him in check with passive-aggression, religious guilt, and a cruelty that Hal sometimes confuses for tenderness.

When a grouse-shooting accident – funny in retrospect – makes a romance out of Hal’s rivalry with fumblingly leftist family friend Harry Percy, Hal finds that he wants, for the first time, a life of his own. But his father is an Englishman; he will not let his son escape tradition. To save himself, Hal must reckon not only with grief and shame but with the wounds of his family's past.

Elegant and blisteringly funny, Henry Henry is a brilliant recasting of Shakespeare's history plays for the modern era - for fans of Alan Hollinghurst, Evelyn Waugh and Saltburn.

'Carnal and precise' RAVEN LEILANI

'You will come away from this book changed' KALIANE BRADLEY

  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781787334595
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 448g
  • Dimensions: 223 x 144 x 29 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Henry Henry
Interesting Reimagining of Shakespeare
Shakespeare's The Henriad has always been intriguing to me and so when I heard about Henry Henry, I had to read it and it was quite different from what I e... READ MORE
Megan Rose