Housebreaking

Housebreaking

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Hardback Published on: 11/08/2022
We can order this from the publisher
Usually dispatched within 2 weeks
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'A brilliant and exciting debut' Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

'Darkly funny . . . For fans of Elizabeth Strout, Ottessa Moshfegh' Sharlene Teo, award-winning author of Ponti

'A droll, poignant debut with one-liners to bring the house down' Saga Magazine, Book of the Month

'An intensely moving and beautifully written story about family, secrets and moving on - ideal for autumn evenings under a duvet'Stylist magazine

'An amazing debut'Daily Mail

Following a long-standing feud and looking to settle the score, a woman decides to dismantle her home - alone and by hand - and move it across a frozen pond during a harsh New England winter in this mesmerizing debut.

Home is certainly not where Del's heart is. After a local scandal led to her parents' divorce and the rest of her family turned their backs on her, Del left her small town and cut off contact.

Now, with both of her parents gone, a chance has arrived for Del to retaliate.

Her uncle wants the one thing Del inherited: the family home.

Instead of handing the place over, and with no other resources at her disposal, Del decides she will tear the place apart herself - piece by piece.

But Del will soon discover, the task stirs up more than just old memories as relatives-each in their own state of unravelling - come knocking on her door.

This spare, strange, magical book is a story not only about the powerlessness and hurt that run through a family but also about the moments when brokenness can offer us the rare chance to start again.

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9781472157522
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Weight: 480g
  • Dimensions: 218 x 146 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews