I Was Told There Would Be Romance

I Was Told There Would Be Romance

Hardback Published on: 31/10/2024
Coming soon
Published 31/10/2024
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

For fans of Never Have I Ever and To All the Boys I've Loved Before comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel about a young Haitian girl navigating high school, friendship, and crushes.

Fifteen-year-old Fancy Augustine is a Haitian American girl with simple desires. She'd like to trade in her floppy, oversize boobs for cute, perky ones. She'd love a boyfriend. And she's desperate for an invite to the biggest event of the school year: Imani Park's birthday party. When Fancy learns her BFF, Tilly, has received a coveted invite and has a secret boyfriend, she is (understandably) devastated and wholeheartedly determined to do whatever it takes to get her own happily ever after.
So what if she makes a deal with the devil (Imani) that guarantees her an invite-but only if she can bring a boyfriend? And what's so bad about letting her crush, Rahim, believe that she can create a voodoo potion for him in exchange for him posing as her boyfriend? And, yeah, maybe she's destroying her friendship with Tilly and falling hopelessly behind in her schoolwork, but Fancy knows it'll all be worth it in the end. Plus, it's not like Fancy's parents would really make good on their threats of sending her back to Haiti...right?

  • Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
  • ISBN: 9780316568005
  • Number of pages: 224
  • Dimensions: 210 x 140 mm

Customer Reviews