Ink & Sigil

Ink & Sigil: Book 1 of the Ink & Sigil series - from the world of the Iron Druid Chronicles

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror , Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 27/08/2020
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

'A NEW, ACTION-PACKED, ENCHANTINGLY FUN SERIES'Booklist

From New York Times bestselling author Kevin Hearne comes the start of a hugely entertaining new series set in the world of the Iron Druid Chronicles - about an eccentric master of magic solving an uncanny mystery in Scotland . . .

Al MacBharrais is both blessed and cursed. He is blessed with an extraordinary white moustache, an appreciation for craft cocktails - and a most unique magical talent. He can cast spells with magically enchanted ink and he uses his gifts to protect our world from rogue minions of various pantheons, especially the Fae.

But he is also cursed. Anyone who hears his voice will begin to feel an inexplicable hatred for Al, so he can only communicate through the written word or speech apps. And his apprentices keep dying in peculiar freak accidents. As his personal life crumbles around him, he devotes his life to his work, all the while trying to crack the secret of his curse.

But when his latest apprentice, Gordie, turns up dead in his Glasgow flat, Al discovers evidence that Gordie was living a secret life of crime. Now Al is forced to play detective - while avoiding actual detectives who are wondering why death seems to always follow Al. Investigating his apprentice's death will take him through Scotland's magical underworld, and he'll need the help of a mischievous hobgoblin if he's to survive.

Packed to the brim with mystery, magic and mayhem, Ink & Sigil is perfect for fans of Rivers of London and Rotherweird.

Praise for Ink & Sigil:

'You are in for a great treat. Ink and Sigil is great escape reading, and I loved every word' Charlaine Harris, New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse books

'Will transport you right in the Scottish realm of fey and fairies . . . The magic is both familiar and new, believable and extraordinary' Charlie Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician

'Vividly blends Kevin Hearne's unique take on urban fantasy with the grit of Scottish magic' Adam Christopher, author of Empire State

'Ink & Sigil is filled to the brim with the Hearne-anigans we've all grown to love. Fans of ribald humor, literary puns and the odd hobgoblin will be enchanted by this paranormal mystery' Jaye Wells, author of the Prospero's War series

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780356515236
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 232g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Ink & Sigil
Great book - If I was still a teenager...
I'm sure there are many who would enjoy this book, but sadly I am not one of them. This sort of puerile, frat-boy hokum is not at all my style. For all t... READ MORE
Diane Louis
Ink & Sigil
Lots of fun and great start to series
I really did have a good time with this one. The main character feels quite unique, very likeable and definitely quirky. There’s a great supporting cast ... READ MORE
Lynn Williams
Ink & Sigil
An authentic representation of Glasgow filled with magic and suspense!
Ever since Kevin Hearne announced he was writing a new series spinning off from his fantastic Iron Druid Chronicle series I kept up with the updates. When ... READ MORE
Heather @justgeekingby