Island in the East

Island in the East

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Romance
Paperback Published on: 12/07/2018
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

***THE EBOOK BESTSELLER*** Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop and Lucy Foley. Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything. ************** 'Island in the East is a stunner' Kate Furnivall 'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped' Dinah Jefferies 'A moving, stirring love story' Rachel Rhys 'Evocative, absorbing. . . A rich and satisfying read' Gill Paul 'It becomes impossible to put this book down' Kate Riordan ************** Singapore, 1897 Harriet and Mae Grafton are twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair. They grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences. 1941 Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . . Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful - with a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama - Island in the East is romantic historical fiction at its very best. More praise for Jenny Ashcroft: 'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees 'A great read.' Judith Lennox 'A summer must-read' Red 'Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale' My Weekly 'Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be.' Nicola Cornick 'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher 'Completely entrancing . . . Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous 'Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read.' Nikola Scott 'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan 'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey 'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780751565089
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Weight: 295g
  • Dimensions: 199 x 140 x 27 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Island in the East
This is by far the best book in this genre I have read for a long time!
I couldn’t put down from the moment I started reading it. I kept trying to find a spot that I could finish reading for the night but there wasn’t one and b... READ MORE
Inked Book Reviews
Island in the East
Unputdownable
Engaging characters and plot. Obviously a considerable amount of research was involved. Can't wait for Jenny's next book. Was originally drawn to buy this ... READ MORE
Beryl Cole
Island in the East
This is by far the best book in this genre I have read for a long time!
I couldn’t put down from the moment I started reading it. I kept trying to find a spot that I could finish reading for the night but there wasn’t one and b... READ MORE
Inked Book Reviews
Island in the East
This is by far the best book in this genre I have read for a long time!
I couldn’t put down from the moment I started reading it. I kept trying to find a spot that I could finish reading for the night but there wasn’t one and b... READ MORE
Inked Book Reviews
Island in the East
This is by far the best book in this genre I have read for a long time!
I couldn’t put down from the moment I started reading it. I kept trying to find a spot that I could finish reading for the night but there wasn’t one and b... READ MORE
Inked Book Reviews