Jaded

Jaded

Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Hardback Published on: 08/02/2024
RRP £16.99
£14.99
Save £2.00 (12%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Jaded
One of the best debuts I've read in years
Jade is a lawyer at a Magic Circle firm in London. After a managing partner keeps forcing drinks on her at a work dinner and Jade becomes highly intoxicate... READ MORE
Martha

Synopsis

'Jade isn't even my real name. Jade began as my Starbucks name, because all children of immigrants have a Starbucks name.' Jade has become everything she ever wanted to be. Successful lawyer. Dutiful daughter. Beloved girlfriend. Loyal friend. Until one night after a work event she suffers an unspeakable attack. As she tries to confront what happened to her, she finds herself caught between her parents who can’t understand, her boyfriend who feels betrayed, and her job that expects silence. The world Jade has constructed starts to crumble. This raw, darkly funny novel explores the ‘grey-area’ of consent and recovery that’s far from linear, and will leave you asking yourself: what would you have done in Jade’s situation?

  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781787303669
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 611g
  • Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 35 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Jaded
A convincing and intelligent novel
Ela Lee is a British-Korean-Turkish writer who studied Law at Oxford and practiced as a City litigation lawyer before writing this her debut novel – and it... READ MORE
Graham Fulcher
Jaded
Intelligently written, powerful, and thought-provoking
Ela Lee's debut novel, "Jaded," is a poignant exploration of identity, ambition, and the aftermath of a fateful night. The protagonist, Jade, navigates the... READ MORE
Ross OR
Jaded
So powerful
4 - 5 stars rounded up “Jade isn’t my real name, it’s Ceyda but Jade is my Starbucks name because all children of immigrants have them. I work for the p... READ MORE
Celia Short
Jaded
My first five star read of 2024 for this debut novel
Ela Lee is a British author with Korean and Turkish heritage and was a lawyer in the City Of London. Main character and narrator Jade has a Korean mother ... READ MORE
Phil Ramage
Jaded
A must read
What a debut this is - totally extraordinary throughout. Would highly recommend this to lawyers and non-lawyers, it is a fascinating insight into so many ... READ MORE
Kitty Kirton
Jaded
An important read!
Impressive that this was a debut
Angus Heslop
Jaded
Highly recommend
Could not put this book down. What an amazing debut novel. Brilliantly written and a story everyone needs to hear.
Andrew Willingham
Jaded
Beautifully written and truly thought-provoking.
I couldn’t put this book down once I started. An incredible debut novel - beautifully written, powerfully evocative descriptions of Turkish and Korean cult... READ MORE
Yasmin
Jaded
A debut so good, it actually made me jealous
A new favourite of all time, Jaded tells the story of Jade (or Ceyda) after a night she can’t remember. I’d been pining after a copy of this book ever sinc... READ MORE
Zeynep Kazmaz
Jaded
The most compelling, interesting, and thought-provoking debut i’ve read in a while
This book is for fans of Queenie and I May Destroy You, telling the story of Ceyda, known by her friends and colleagues as Jade, who on the surface has it ... READ MORE
Alexandra Alderson
Jaded
Outstanding debut which spoke to me on many levels
I felt so many emotions reading this one, with an overwhelming feeling of rage on Jade’s behalf!! Ela Lee effortlessly tackles so many complex themes about... READ MORE
Jennifer Li
Jaded
Great read
Impressive debut from Ela Lee
Simon White
Jaded
A must read!
"Jaded" is a debut that grips you with its raw emotion and incisive exploration of identity, trauma, and resilience. Ela Lee's adept storytelling plunges y... READ MORE
Rachael Read