Legendborn

Legendborn

Children's, New & Recommended, Teenage & Young Adult
Paperback Published on: 15/09/2020
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Legendborn
this has become a new favourite of mine
i’d bought myself a copy of legendborn in spring 2021 but i had decided to wait until summer 2022 (or close to it) to start it since the sequel bloodmarked... READ MORE
Heven
Legendborn
an unexpected favourite!
what a book !!! for some reason, this book never stood out to me as something I wanted to read, but I read it for a book club and from the first twenty pag... READ MORE
Libby Low
Legendborn
A great book, just not for me
This was an unexpected one! This was a dnf last year as I just couldn’t get into it, a combo of long chapters and tiny writing dragging it out longer and s... READ MORE
Amelia Adams
Legendborn
Fantasy for older teenagers
An epic fantasy novel which doesn't shy away from exploring heavy topics of racism, slavery and grief. Sometimes the pacing felt slightly off but overall I... READ MORE
Sarah in Wolverhampton

Synopsis

Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award Filled with mystery and Southern Black Girl Magic, Tracy Deonn's New York Times bestselling Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend. This is an explosive fantasy debut that's perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas and Cinderella is Dead! SOME LEGACIES ARE MEANT TO BE BROKEN. After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants to escape. A residential programme for bright high-schoolers seems like the perfect opportunity - until she witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus . . . A flying demon feeding on human energies. A secret society of so-called "Legendborn" that hunt the creatures down. A mysterious mage who calls himself a "Merlin" and who attempts - and fails - to wipe Bree's memory of everything she saw. The mage's failure unlocks Bree's own unique magic and a buried memory about her mother. Now Bree will do whatever it takes to discover the truth, even infiltrate the Legendborn. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur's knights and foretell a magical war, Bree must decide how far she'll go for the truth. Should she use her magic to take the society down - or join the fight?

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • ISBN: 9781398501874
  • Number of pages: 512
  • Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Legendborn
A must read!
Legendborn by Tracy Deonn So I received a copy from NetGalley to read, and by page 50 I had ordered my own copy to support the author as I LOVED it! I kne... READ MORE
Thereisalwaystimeforbooks
Legendborn
Unique YA fantasy
I loved the TV show Merlin when I was younger and while I have some Arthurian retellings on my TBR, I have never actually read one. Both the cover and the... READ MORE
M Cairns
Legendborn
Best Arthurian Book ever!
As I’m in the process of writing my MA dissertation on modern reinterpretations of medieval mythology and legends, I have read an awful lot of them over th... READ MORE
Fabienne Schwizer
Legendborn
Patiently waiting for book two
Bree's a sixteeen year old girl who applied for early college with her childhood best friend Alice and they both got in. Only Bree didn't have the permissi... READ MORE
Milica S.
Legendborn
Exceeded my expectations
I loved everything about this book that I don't even know where to start! First of all, BELIEVE ALL THE HYPE SURROUNDING THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT DOES NOT DIS... READ MORE
Daphne Macalintal
Legendborn
Deserves the Hype
Rep: black main character, sapphic taiwanese-american side character, sapphic venezuelan-american side character, black side characters, non-binary side ch... READ MORE
Eleanor
Legendborn
Recommended to fans of Arthurian legend and subversive fantasy
(4.5/5 stars) Deonn has an amazing writing style that really draws the reader in, making this book easily bingeable - it definitely felt shorter than 500+ ... READ MORE
Sabrina
Legendborn
TENS.TENS.TENS ACROSS THE BOARD.
An absolute joyful rollercoaster. Pitch perfect magic system and charming characters. I'm glad I have spent the last 7 hours immersed in this world.
Zina Brown
Legendborn
Fierce, Explosive, Modern
Wow. This was a book and a half. With a fiercely independent heroine, world-building to make your heart sing, and characters you'll never want to forget, L... READ MORE
Clara at Barnet
Legendborn
Contemporary fantasy that defies tradition
Legendborn by Tracy Deonn is the contemporary fantasy I've been looking for. Normally I stray toward the epic, second-world type stories, but Legendborn ha... READ MORE
Danae Miller-Clendon
Legendborn
Exciting story with clever twists
Exciting story with clever twists, I can’t wait for the next part of the series and I’m really glad I gave this book a go
Alex Harold
Legendborn
I feel like I’ve tripped and fallen on Excalibur because this book just killed me...
Legendborn tells the story of Bree Matthews as she adjusts to her new reality following the death of her mother. If that wasn’t difficult enough, she’s als... READ MORE
Saphron Barrett
Legendborn
A little disappointing
Legendborn follows our main character Bree, a 16 year old grieving the death of her mother, who moves away to a prestigious pre-college program with her b... READ MORE
Michelle L
Legendborn
Mixed Bag, But Give it a Chance
Legendborn is about 16 year old Bree, still dealing with the grief of losing her Mother when she gets sucked into a secret society of King Arthur's descend... READ MORE
Liv Burrell
Legendborn
Really impressive YA debut
This was such a well constructed and enjoyable urban fantasy. It tells the story of Bree, a 16 year old black girl dealing with the death of her mother. Wh... READ MORE
Laura Newsholme
Legendborn
Best book of my year!
I absolutely loved this breathtaking but also heartbreaking story and after pushing myself out of my really annoying book slump I finished and couldn’t put... READ MORE
Lillie
Legendborn
Fantastic Concept
So let me just start with saying I loved this book. It is by no means perfect but it is awesome and badass much like the protagonist. It covers magic, the ... READ MORE
Lara Olafisoye
Legendborn
A M A Z I N G!!! A must read!
I have to give this book an A*! It was amazing from beginning to end! Firstly, the whole magic world was throughly researched and explained throughout the ... READ MORE
Hanifa Frederick
Legendborn
a refreshing, modern take on arthurian legend
what an absolute beauty of a book. i think i put off reading the last 200 pages of this because i never wanted it to end. if you enjoyed the bbc adaptation... READ MORE
Kelly
Legendborn
Great for teen readers, less so for adults
This is clearly a brilliant book, it has such great reviews and it is super engaging and immersive. Unfortunately it wasn't a great fit for me, as it is de... READ MORE
Libby Williams
Legendborn
A Brilliant New Take on the Classic King Arthur Myth
I am so in love with this book!! Brilliantly written and with an unpredictable and compelling plot, it is not only a fast-paced fantasy adventure story tha... READ MORE
Laura
Legendborn
Incredible, you will want to re-read!
Tracey Deonn weaves this fantasy world in an incredible way, making you fall in love with the characters and truly immerse yourself in the world. The devel... READ MORE
Charys Sparks
Legendborn
Amazing
Deals with Racism, grief and loss, the relationship between female family members in an expert way that really pulls the heartstrings of the reader. Along ... READ MORE
Jessica Reilly
Legendborn
Great as a recommendation!
This is a book filled with so many different things but each one is so perfectly entangled with the other. It has romance and history and action all wrappe... READ MORE
Tasha
Legendborn
OMG
This book is AMAZING!!! Heavy in black history and legend. Following Bree as she greaves her mother and gets involved with magic and demons is surreal. The... READ MORE
Emma Loudon
Legendborn
A unique reimagining of the Arthurian legend
Wow! What an amazing book! Legendborn is filled with magic, mystery and mayhem. The ending left me breathless and desperate for the next book.   I think ... READ MORE
Lucy Parry
Legendborn
Outstanding
This book got me out of my 4-year slump when it was released. I needed a book that fully encompassed a heroine with pain, grief, justice, and courage & who... READ MORE
Siofra K
Legendborn
love love love
highly highly recommend
Tara