Limits to Growth

Limits to Growth: The 30-Year Update

Non-Fiction, Education, Geography, Science & Maths
Paperback Published on: 17/06/2013
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

Groundbreaking call to action by Donella Meadows, the bestselling author of Thinking in Systems!

**Limits to Growth was right. New research shows we're nearing collapse the GuardianThe updated edition of the groundbreaking classic that kickstarted the movement for environmental and ecological reform!Perfect for fans of The Uninhabitable Earth and There is No Planet B**

It is no unknown fact that at the present rate of climate change, population growth and capitalistic expansion, we are over-exceeding our planet's resources. We're stretched pretty thin and if we continue at the present rate we'll soon be headed towards irreversible consequences as a result of unchecked growth on a finite planet.

Donella Meadows, Jorgen Randers and Dennis Meadows, three imminent environmental leaders, foresaw the early signs of wear and tear on our planet. They come together in Limits to Growth to offer an analysis of present and future trends in resource use and assess a variety of possible outcomes. Citing climate change as the most tangible example of our current overshoot, the scientists now provide us with a plan to reduce our needs to meet the carrying capacity of the planet.

In many ways, the message contained in Limits to Growth is a warning. Rampant resource exhaustion cannot be sustained without collapse. But as the authors are careful to point out, there is reason to believe that humanity can still reverse some of the damage to Earth if we reduce inefficiency and waste. Limits to Growth is a work of stunning intelligence that has exposed the critical line between human growth and human development.

  • Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781931498586
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Weight: 544g
  • Dimensions: 229 x 153 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews