Miss Austen Investigates

Miss Austen Investigates

Hardback Published on: 25/01/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Miss Austen Investigates
Just fabulous!
WOW what a book! Miss Austen Investigates is everything I could’ve dreamed of. I am a huge Austen and crime novel fan so this mix was just a perfect read f... READ MORE
Emma at Blackburn
Miss Austen Investigates
What a joy to read!
Absolutely perfect for fans of Jane Austen and cosy crime novels, this book is just an explosion of fun and intrigue that doesn’t take itself too seriously... READ MORE
Elisabeth Gardiner
Miss Austen Investigates
Absolutely fantastic!
Oh cosy crime and Austen fans, you are in for SUCH a treat! I could not get enough of this brilliant debut from Jessica Bull, which combines all the wit an... READ MORE
Tilly Fitzgerald
Miss Austen Investigates
Had echoes of Austen
This entertaining mystery novel paid homage to the incomparable Jane Austen through its daring (if a bit impulsive) heroine, and its vibrant (if a bit exte... READ MORE
Sophie at Windsor
Miss Austen Investigates
Jane Austen as you have never seen her before!
Miss Austen Investigates by Jessica Bull has been in my TBR pile for a wee while, patiently awaiting my attention. I was in the mood for a lighter read, an... READ MORE
Beth at Chesterfield

Synopsis

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that every good mystery is in need of a brilliant sleuth. Welcome to Hampshire, 1795, where a young Jane Austen has her sights set on securing a marriage proposal from the dashing Tom Lefroy at a local ball. But when a shocking discovery is made - a milliner's lifeless body tucked away in a linen closet - Jane finds herself embroiled in an unexpected murder mystery. As she races against the clock to clear her beloved brother Georgy's name, Jane uses her sharp wits to navigate the treacherous waters of society, unmasking secrets and unearthing hidden motives along the way. With every twist and turn, Jane's determination to solve the case deepens. And if she fails, her brother will face the ultimate punishment - the hangman's noose. Join Jane on her quest for justice as she faces down danger, deceit, and scandal amidst her own friends and neighbours. Will she uncover the truth in time, or will the real killer go free? One thing's for certain - in Hampshire, nothing is as it seems.

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9780241642085
  • Number of pages: 464
  • Weight: 575g
  • Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 41 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Miss Austen Investigates
It is a truth universally acknowledged that Jane Austen as a sleuth is the book we all need!
THIS BOOK!! What absolute perfection, combining my favourite things, Jane Austen and crime fiction, I cannot tell you how excited I was to have an early c... READ MORE
Jennifer Reeve
Miss Austen Investigates
strong start to an enchanting series
It’s got to be five stars for Miss Austen Investigates by Jessica Bull! To set the stage – I’m not usually a fan of historical fiction and knew very little... READ MORE
Teresa Terry
Miss Austen Investigates
Maybe not the best sleuth but what an entertaining read
Well I really enjoyed that. A great fun read and if you are an Austen devotee you will recognise a raft of names in this book. Great characters and a goo... READ MORE
Lynda Checkley
Miss Austen Investigates
Good fun with Austen
Jane Austen makes a perfect (endearing, impulsive, clever, and even wry at times) detective! In fact, I am already looking forward to the next title of wha... READ MORE
Clarisa Butler
Miss Austen Investigates
Fantastic
Really loved this who done it mystery where Emma from Jane Austin meets Miss Marple from Agatha Christie . The author really capture Jane Austins style an... READ MORE
Jane  Franklin
Miss Austen Investigates
A Jane full of beans
During a ball at the grand Tudor manor of Lord John and Lady Harcourt, a body is found in the laundry closet, brutally murdered. Enter Jane, fresh from the... READ MORE
L J Bowman
Miss Austen Investigates
A fantastic murder mystery with a most exceptional heroine
Meet Jane Austen as she embarks on the first of a new series of murder mysteries. Although this is such an astonishingly fabulous concept, Miss Austen ... READ MORE
Kate Poels
Miss Austen Investigates
Fantastic cosy crime!
This was a wonderful and easy going read! Perfect for my first book of the new year. This is a cosy crime set during Jane Austen's life, with Jane actin... READ MORE
Imogen Fowles
Miss Austen Investigates
I loved it
As a huge Jane Austen fan, I have been excited about this book since it was first announced. My favourite author solving a murder? Count me in! I waited un... READ MORE
Noemi Proietti
Miss Austen Investigates
Whodunnit Austen Style
The author cleverly interweaves facts and fiction in this whodunnit style murder mystery. It wasn’t for me but was well-written. The discovery of a woman’... READ MORE
Lesley Walsh
Miss Austen Investigates
Jane Austen goes detective!
Jane Austen is at a party hoping for a proposal, when instead she happens upon the lifeless body of a milliner that recently moved into the local area. Soo... READ MORE
Lesley Gaisford
Miss Austen Investigates
See Jane Austen in a new way
This is Jane Austen as you’ve never seen her before, the beloved writer turns investigator in order to save her brothers life. Jane has been invited to a b... READ MORE
Robert young
Miss Austen Investigates
A very enjoyable read.
This was a very enjoyable read, it is set in 1795 when Jane is around 20 years old. There is a murder to solve and Jane just has to get involved. It must h... READ MORE
Cheryl Prettyjohns
Miss Austen Investigates
Jane Austen turns amateur detective
3.5* rounded up Set in 1795 we meet Jane Austen, 20 years old, a budding author and intrepid amateur sleuth. This Regency era murder mystery sees Jane try... READ MORE
Lydia Cl
Miss Austen Investigates
Can't wait to read the next instalment.
Miss Austen Investigates by Jessica Bull. It was lovely to read the first of a new series and look forward to the next. I don't really know why Jane ... READ MORE
Beverley Cole
Miss Austen Investigates
Miss Austen is Quite the Investigator
I thank NetGalley and Union Square and Co. for an advance reader copy of “Miss Austen Investigates: The Hapless Milliner.” All opinions and comments are my... READ MORE
Helen H.
Miss Austen Investigates
Totally hooked
Love the Bonnets at the start of each chapter. Miss Jane Austen is at a grand party at Deane House when events take a terrible turn for the worse. A you... READ MORE
Always Happiest Reading
Miss Austen Investigates
Whodunnit Austen Style
The author cleverly interweaves facts and fiction in this whodunnit style murder mystery. It wasn’t for me but was well-written. The discovery of a woman’... READ MORE
Lesley Walsh
Miss Austen Investigates
A fictional take on Jane Austen & a murder investigation - what more do you need? (3.5 stars)
Hampshire, 1795 where the Austen family reside at the local rectory, sister Cassandra is engaged to be married, & where Jane is in the midst of a romance w... READ MORE
OutsmartYourShelf
Miss Austen Investigates
A delightful whodunnit featuring Jane Austen
‘It is a truth universally acknowledged, that every good mystery is in need of a brilliant sleuth...’ cover tagline. My thanks to Penguin Random House ... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
Miss Austen Investigates
Great period details - though the heroine is a bit ditzy...
I was expecting a cooler, smarter Jane Austen. Instead, we’re treated to a real scatterbrain – someone who finds it difficult to think clearly unless she w... READ MORE
Sarah Higbee
Miss Austen Investigates
this was such a great historical witty murder mystery
"Her investigations send her on a journey through local society, as Jane’s suspect list keeps on growing— and her keen observational skills of people will ... READ MORE
Margaret Whittaker