Sacrilege

Sacrilege

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 16/08/2012
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Sacrilege
For fans of The Name of the Rose
The latest novel in the Giordano Bruno series is a page turning romp through post reformation England. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom it fits into the se... READ MORE
Lisa Doyle Redmond at Drogheda
Sacrilege
A Fantastic Historical Mystery
If you like a grand old historical thriller like, sorry obvious comparison coming up, C.J.Sansom then do try these Giordano Bruno tales. They are fast pace... READ MORE
June Davies at Northallerton

Synopsis

The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling seriesThe third book in S. J. Parris’s bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth ILondon, 1584. Giordano Bruno travels to Canterbury for love. But finds only murder …Giordano Bruno is being followed by the woman he once loved – Sophia Underhill, accused of murder and on the run. With the leave of the Queen’s spymaster, he sets out to clear Sophia’s name. But when more brutal killings occur a far deadlier plot emerges.A city rife with treachery. A relic steeped in blood.His hunt for the real killer leads to the shadows of the Cathedral – England’s holiest shrine – and the heart of a sinister and powerful conspiracy …Heretic, maverick, charmer: Giordano Bruno is always on his guard. Never more so than when working for Queen Elizabeth and her spymaster – for this man of letters is now an agent of intrigue and danger …Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary MantelPraise for S. J. Parris‘A delicious blend of history and thriller’ The Times‘An omnipresent sense of danger’ Daily Mail‘Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death’ Sunday Times‘Pacy, intricate, and thrilling’ Observer‘Vivid, sprawling … Well-crafted, exuberant’ Financial Times‘Impossible to resist’ Daily Telegraph‘Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes’ Stuart MacBride‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse‘The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ISBN: 9780007317783
  • Number of pages: 512
  • Weight: 360g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 32 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Sacrilege
Unexpectedly gripping read
Not a big reader of historical fiction, I wasn’t sure what to expect from this mystery/crime story set in 1584 but from the very first page, I was hooked. ... READ MORE
KSC
Sacrilege
Mesmerising
Picked this book up and didn't know it was going to be so hard to put it down.Great historical thriller that has you on your edge of the seat and leaves yo... READ MORE
Prisoner
Sacrilege
A good historical novel
Full of historical characters set in an interesting era. Characters well developed, interesting story line that develops through the following books.
Devonshire Belle