Salome

Salome: The woman behind the dance

Paperback Published on: 11/07/2024
Coming soon
Published 11/07/2024
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

An evocative, unputdownable novel about the infamous Salome. Discover the woman behind the myth, in this epic and opulent novel, perfect for fans of Jennifer Saint, Madeline Miller, Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir. ...................A dutiful royal daughter.At age fourteen, Princess Salome knows she will soon be ready for marriage - one that will satisfy the ambitions of her mother Herodias. But it is Herodias's own sudden remarriage that will change Salome's life in a way she did not expect.A girl who loved to dance.Uprooted to Judea, Salome finds herself in a land full of strange people - none more so than the prophet John 'the Baptiser', who condemns her mother and stepfather for their respective divorces. When John is imprisoned for inciting rebellion, Herodias forces Salome to ask for his head as a gift for her dancing.A woman ready to fight.Haunted by her part in John's death, Salome is a very different woman when, a year later, John's protégé, Jesus of Nazareth, begins to gain prominence with his anti-establishment teachings and, thanks in a large part to her own mother, meets a rebel's fate. Now Salome is prepared to stand up for what she believes in - whatever the cost.Beautiful, brave and strong, it's time for Salome to redefine her story....................Praise for Joanna Courtney:'Exciting and immersive! A compelling story that crackles with intrigue, passion and humour' TRACY REES'Beautifully researched, emotionally charged, elegantly told, this is a story to savour and enjoy' ANNE O'BRIEN'A novel to savour, a story as rich as fine Roman wine' CAROL MCGRATHDon't miss Cleopatra & Julius - the love story the world never knew - available now.

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780349432984
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 22 mm

Customer Reviews