Second Self

Second Self: The tender new novel from the author of WET PAINT

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 18/04/2024
RRP £9.99
£8.49
Save £1.50 (15%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

'Almost hypnotically perfect prose' Kate Sawyer
'A thoughtful, tender and delicate consideration of life's choices' Huma Qureshi
'Ashby handles her material lightly and atmospherically' Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

When Cathy and Noah first got together neither saw children in their future. Eight years later, they're happily married - and Cathy isn't so sure. With Noah's patience for his wife's ambivalence waning, her widowed mother in a world of her own and her best friend yearning for a second baby, Cathy feels increasingly adrift.

Escaping into her work in the conservation studios of the National Gallery, she chips away at the layers of overpaint on a canvas from the collection. Will the discovery of an unexpected truth help her find the clarity she craves?

This absorbing second novel from the author of WET PAINT - about confronting expectations and learning to cope with the nagging, complex questions that shape a life - is perfect for fans of OKAY DAYS, EXPECTATION and OLIVE.

READERS LOVE SECOND SELF ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'This book spoke to me like no other. Loved all the characters, big or small'⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'I read this emotive and gripping novel over 48 hours - it's a beautifully written story and I recommend to anyone!'

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A gorgeous novel that pulled me straight out of my ongoing slow reading . . . pretty much read majority of it in one sitting!'

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781398703056
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Weight: 227g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm

Customer Reviews