Separation for Beginners

Separation for Beginners

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 25/05/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'I laughed. I cried. I loved it' - Jack Dee This is not what Pete thought middle-age would be like. His marriage is over, his business is on its last breaths and he's spending more time than is healthy in a dressing gown. So when his 23-year-old daughter Susie needs to move back home, it's like a glorious ray of sunshine has found him at last.Except that she brings Niall with her. Niall: the boyfriend. Niall: a druid gardener who inexplicably only works from home. Niall: the annoying shadow that follows Susie everywhere.Getting Niall out of the house becomes Pete's new purpose in life. But as he tries to bring Niall's flaws to the surface, Pete is forced to admit he's far from perfect himself. And spending time with this oddball – as awkward as it may be – is making Pete open up in ways he'd long shut down.Separation for Beginners is a warm and wise novel about facing old heartaches and finding new friends, in the unlikeliest of places . . .This uplifting, laugh-out-loud funny read about new beginnings is perfect for fans of David Nicholls, Beth O'Leary and Marian Keyes. ___________'Sharp-witted, self-deprecating and honest, had me laughing from start to finish' - Daily Mail'Sharp and heart-warming' - Daily Mail, Fiction Books of the Year ___________

  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9781802793116
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 300g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Separation for Beginners
Big hearted, moving and very funny.
Highly recommend. A very moving and entertaining story about a man finding his feet after divorce.
Tish Potter
Separation for Beginners
'Seperation for Beginners' makes you smile and makes you think.
Such an interesting and sensitive approach to an experience we must all have been through. Joe Portman takes us through the journey of the end of a relatio... READ MORE
Paul Liddiard
Separation for Beginners
A fantastically heartfelt and entertaining read .
We are all to familiar with reading books about empty nest syndrome from a female perspective, but this joyful, poignant and subtly nuanced book depicts w... READ MORE
Tracy,, Nick, India , Dylan Lerman
Separation for Beginners
Amazing read
Great read, thoroughly enjoyed the book from front to back.
Christian Kipps
Separation for Beginners
Loved it!
I loved Separation For Beginners. A beautifully-balanced, perfectly-paced, funny, touching, true-to-life tale very well-told. The narrator’s trials, tribul... READ MORE
Nick Meyer
Separation for Beginners
Beautifully funny
I loved everything about this story - the characters, their flaws and the wonderful humorous threads that bind them all together leaving you loving them al... READ MORE
Belinda Galliford
Separation for Beginners
Quirky concept
Although there are some very humorous moments in this book I admit I found it difficult to engage with the main character as, whilst he might not acknowled... READ MORE
Sarah Goldthorpe
Separation for Beginners
Perfect balance of humour and poignancy
A brilliantly balanced book that achieves being both laugh-out-loud funny and poignant. The depiction of the evolving relationship between the central char... READ MORE
Jim McKeever