Seven Signs of Life

Seven Signs of Life: Stories from an Intensive Care Doctor

Non-Fiction, Biography & Memoir, Literary Biography & Memoir
Paperback Published on: 09/01/2020
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

'Heartfelt, honest, illuminating and wise' Julia Samuel, author of This Too Shall Pass.Perfect for fans of This Is Going to Hurt.Grief. Anger. Joy. Fear. Distraction. Disgust. Hope.All emotions we expect to encounter over our lifetime. But what if this was every day? And what if your ability to manage them was the difference between life and death?For Aoife Abbey, a doctor in intensive care, these experiences are part of the job - from grief when you make a potentially fatal mistake to joy when the ward unexpectedly breaks into song. Seven Signs of Life is Abbey's extraordinary account of what it means to be alive and how it feels to care for a living.An insightful, tender and inspiring memoir that explores the reality of life on the NHS front line. 'Brilliant, compelling... A hugely life-affirming book' Mail on Sunday

  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781784708474
  • Number of pages: 288
  • Weight: 200g
  • Dimensions: 192 x 128 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Seven Signs of Life
Seven Signs of Life
A beautiful account.
Margaret Ogston
Seven Signs of Life
What a fantastic insight into the following topics..
Fear, grief, joy, distraction, anger, disgust, and hope.
Charlotte Ferizolli