Shigidi

Shigidi: and the Brass Head of Obalufon

Hardback Published on: 08/02/2024
£22.00
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Shigidi
A joyfully surreal read!
Shigidi is a short, wild ride that introduces you to a cast of Nigerian gods, goddesses and spirits, and watch as they undertake a heist on the British Mus... READ MORE
Adam

Synopsis

Yoruba gods liberating a Nigerian artefact from London's British Museum, this is a heist novel filled to the brim with magic.Shigidi is a disgruntled nightmare god in the Orisha spirit company, reluctantly answering the prayers of his few remaining believers to satisfy the demands of the company board. When he meets Nneoma, a sort-of succubus with a long and secretive past, everything changes.Together, they attempt to break free of their constraints and live on their owns terms. But the elder gods have other plans for Shigidi, and the Orisha Spirit Company is not so easy to leave. The chairman has a final job for Shigidi and Nneoma, one that will take them to the very heart of the British Museum.From the boisterous streets of Lagos to the rooftop bars of Singapore and the secret spaces of London, Shigidi and Nneoma will encounter strange creatures, rival gods and manipulative magicians as they are drawn into a spectacular heist that spans two realms . . . and which could turn their own worlds upside down . . .A magical heist novel that will take you deep into the heart of the British Museum. This is a contemporary fantasy that's perfect for fans of P. Djeli Clark, Nnedi Okorafor and Neil Gaiman.Here's what readers are saying:'A fast paced heist story with a Nigerian twist . . . It was super unputdownable''Such an interesting look into African mythology and different settings that you don't often see''I love the way this book splices together both Nigerian and British myths and legends''It has everything: a tricky heist, African gods and succubi, romance. It was just a fun story with interesting characters and great world building''It is a fantasy heist book like nothing I have ever read. If American Gods and Oceans 11 had a baby it would be this book''This was OH SO SULTRY. There's poly rep with so much African Mythology featuring a Nightmare god and Succubus in a way that very vaguely reminds me of an adult version of Strange the Dreamer''This book was so ambitious trying to cram as many African (and even non African!) mystical/religious elements as possible but I think it delivered!''Wow - what a ride! I learned much about Yoruba and orishas in this fantastical tale of Shigidi and Nneoma's adventures''A fascinating story that is based in Nigerian Yoruba traditional mythos, updated with a very modern twist'

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781399615655
  • Number of pages: 304
  • Weight: 512g
  • Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews