Skin of the Sea

Skin of the Sea

Children's, New & Recommended, Teenage & Young Adult
Paperback Published on: 04/11/2021
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Skin of the Sea
Magic, Mythology & Mermaids.
Skin of the sea is a YA Novel rich in folklore/mythology. I loved learning more about black mermaids (mami wata) and gods. Tales of the sea & beautiful ... READ MORE
Lauren

Synopsis

An epic love story infused with West African mythology. For fans of The Gilded Ones, Children of Blood and Bone, and Circe, this book is a powerful new imagining of a devastating time in history, told through the eyes of a bold and unforgettable heroine. This is the story of a great love - a love that will threaten worlds and anger Gods. This is a story that will change history. Simidele is one of the Mami Wata, mermaids duty-bound to collect the souls of those who die at sea and bless their journeys back home to the Supreme Creator. But when a living boy is thrown overboard a slave ship, Simi saves his life, going against an ancient decree and bringing terrible danger to the mami wata. Now Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends - a journey of vengeful gods, treacherous lands and legendary creatures. If she fails, she risks not just the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.

  • Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
  • ISBN: 9780241413975
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 234g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Skin of the Sea
Beautiful Book
I requested this book because it looked like all the things I love, mermaids, African mythology, and a strong female protagonist! From the very first page ... READ MORE
Alice M
Skin of the Sea
West African inspired Little Mermaid
As a Mami Wata (a mermaid), Simi’s job is to collect the souls of those who die in the sea, but when Kola is thrown from a slave ship, she chooses to save ... READ MORE
Stacey Card
Skin of the Sea
An Extraordinary Mermaid Story
The cover of this book enticed me as soon as I saw it because I love mermaid stories. But Skin Of The Sea is no ordinary mermaid story. Using West African ... READ MORE
Lucy Parry
Skin of the Sea
Richly diverse and captivatingly addictive!
4.5 stars This absolutely stunning and captivatingly unforgettable fantasy debut blends West African mythology with one of histories’ darkest chapters to c... READ MORE
Natasha
Skin of the Sea
Interesting elements, mostly underdeveloped.
'Skin of the Sea' by Natasha Bowen is one of those books I was obsessed with reading from the moment I saw it announced. The cover is beautiful, the topic ... READ MORE
Inkslinger
Skin of the Sea
Have you ever felt like you have waited your whole life for a book?
QOTD: Have you ever felt like you have waited your whole life for a book? Thanks to Michelle Nathan at at Penguin Books for my stunning proof copy and ... READ MORE
Lauren Sparks
Skin of the Sea
African Own Voices YA Fantasy
This is an African fairytale of mermaids and gods called Orishas. Borrowing predominantly from Yoruba folklore we are taking to a time when the slave trade... READ MORE
Lara Olafisoye
Skin of the Sea
Welcome themes in this West African YA fantasy
Headlines: West African fantasy wow Slavery and fighting back Lush cover I'm blown away by the cover on this book, it is stunning and provides such a fant... READ MORE
Micky - bookphenomena
Skin of the Sea
Great story!
Not something I'd usually pick up, but this was recommended to me and I'm glad I did. What a great story! I realised I knew nothing about African mythology... READ MORE
Elizabeth Morgan
Skin of the Sea
Amazing retelling of The Little Mermaid
This is an early reviewers copy issued to me via Netgalley. I was drawn to it first by the beautiful cover art. It is possibly the best cover I have seen t... READ MORE
Rune
Skin of the Sea
Rich with culture
This story is so rich with West African history that I am in awe. This book follows Simi who is a Mama Wati or mermaid whose job is to collect the souls o... READ MORE
Yuhannah Anderson
Skin of the Sea
Masterfully Written
This is such a beautifully written story, with magnificent world building. Simidele is a mermaid, who spends her days collecting the souls of the people w... READ MORE
Liv Burrell
Skin of the Sea
lovingly written and researched
Right from the start you can tell there was a lot of love and research put into this book. It's obvious that the author took her time to research African l... READ MORE
erica cochrane
Skin of the Sea
A beautiful story
A very good retelling of a mythology I wasn't familiar with. I was a little disappointed by the romance aspect, but everything else was wonderful - the wri... READ MORE
Ania