Skylar and the K-pop Headteacher

Skylar and the K-pop Headteacher

Children's, New & Recommended
Paperback Published on: 07/03/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

K-pop meets Freaky Friday in a hilarious body swap adventure for 8+ readers from Costa-winning author Luan Goldie, perfect for fans of Jenny Pearson and David Solomons.

When 11-year-old K-pop obsessed Skylar inexplicably switches bodies with her super strict 71-year-old headteacher, Ms Callus, she’s thrown into a hilarious world of dancing old ladies gone viral and school rules thrown out the window, as she tries to figure out how on earth to swap back! But then the chance to meet her favourite boyband AZ8 in real life changes everything, and Skylar must decide whether her K-pop dream come true is worth risking being stuck as an old lady for ever…

Singing with laugh-out-loud moments, this is a joyful and uplifting tale of friendship, fandom and chasing your dreams.

PRAISE FOR SKYLAR AND THE K-POP HEADTEACHER:

"This 'Freaky Friday'-esque adventure is packed full with laugh-out-loud jokes about generational misunderstandings, and readers will be left wondering whether teachers, even the worse ones, might be human after all." The Bookseller, Editor's Choice

"Freaky Friday on a K-Pop sugar rush! Fizzing with fun, fandom and heart ... This book is thunderingly awesome!" Ryan Hammond, author of Villains Academy

"The funniest book I've read in ages – a laugh-out-loud, feel-good middle grade adventure with some unforgettable characters" Sophie Cameron, author of Our Sister, Again

"This story sparkles like confetti. It's fast, funny and filled with heart. I loved it!" Hannah Moffatt, author of Small!

"Hilarious ... sparkles with mischief… For music fans, fans of books that will very definitely make you laugh and curious readers this book is going to be a hit." Armadillo Magazine

"An absolute delight … a story that is funny and thoughtful, with a believable young heroine, who just needs to broaden her horizons. It is highly recommended for middle grade readers." Margaret Pemberton

"Brilliantly fun escapism. Full of unexpected hijinks and laugh-out-loud moments, it is also a story of empathy and discovering your true self." Scope for Imagination

"Perfectly captures the feeling of being obsessed with a band… if you enjoyed Turning Red I think you will LOVE this." Golden Books Girl

“With lots of laugh-out-loud moments, this is a hilarious tale, at the heart of which is the importance of seeing things from another person’s viewpoint, friendship, self-belief and being true to yourself. Older KS2 readers will love it.” Red Reading Hub

  • Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9781529512533
  • Number of pages: 272
  • Weight: 188g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 20 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Skylar and the K-pop Headteacher
Very funny!
I like to think I have a very broad taste when it comes to music but the older I get, the further away I drift from what children enjoy listening to. While... READ MORE
Jacqui  Sydney