Sounds and Sweet Airs

Sounds and Sweet Airs: The Forgotten Women of Classical Music

Non-Fiction, Music, Classical Music
Paperback Published on: 06/04/2017
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop


The hidden history of the women who dared to write music in a man’s world.

‘Lucid, engaging and exuberant... [Sounds and Sweet Airs] is terrifically enjoyable and accessible, and leaves one hankering for a second volume.’ The Sunday Times

Francesca Caccini. Barbara Strozzi. Élisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre. Marianna Martines. Fanny Hensel. Clara Schumann. Lili Boulanger. Elizabeth Maconchy.

Since the birth of classical music, women who dared compose have faced a bitter struggle to be heard. In spite of this, female composers continued to create, inspire and challenge. Yet even today so much of their work languishes unheard.

Anna Beer reveals the highs and lows experienced by eight composers across the centuries, from Renaissance Florence to twentieth-century London, restoring to their rightful place exceptional women whom history has forgotten.

  • Publisher: Oneworld Publications
  • ISBN: 9781786070678
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm

Customer Reviews