Talking at Night

Talking at Night

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Hardback Published on: 06/07/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Talking at Night
Practically perfect in every way.
This book! I cannot remember the last time I fell in love with a book so effortlessly and so quickly. From the very first chapter, I was hooked. Full... READ MORE
Chloe Barnfield
Talking at Night
An all-consuming story of love.
This is, at its heart, a beautiful debut and an all-consuming study of love. It is clear how and why Talking at Night has garnered comparisons to the work... READ MORE
Olivia at Sutton
Talking at Night
Profoundly Moving
Despite clear parallels to Rooney's Normal People, this is a decidedly warmer approach to the literary love story. This is an emotionally intense book, on... READ MORE
Aaron Myles
Talking at Night
A gorgeous book to fall into
It begins as Rosie meets Will at a party. He is the cool, popular boy with a troubled past, she is a clever girl, destined for Oxford, someone who follows ... READ MORE
Beth at Chesterfield
Talking at Night
Luminous
If I could give this book more stars, I would. Many thanks to the publishers for sending me not one but TWO(!) reading copies - it was as if they already k... READ MORE
Xin Yi Heah
Talking at Night
Perfect for fans of Sally Rooney
This is one of my favourite books of 2023 so far! I found Rosie and Will’s relationship so achingly beautiful, and I was rooting for them both the entire t... READ MORE
Lila Nicholson
Talking at Night
Perceptive and beautifully written
This is a star crossed love book, but also it's a sensitive meditation on the impact of grief. Rosie and "bad boy" Will meet at a campfire . However earl... READ MORE
Tracey McHardy
Talking at Night
The next Normal People
I’m hesitant to write this review because I’ve got a strong sense of right book wrong time with this one. Talking at Night has all the elements of a book I... READ MORE
Olivia
Talking at Night
An understated, gentle love story
An understated and gentle love story between two people who meet as teenagers and move in and out of each other’s lives over time, as an undeniable bond an... READ MORE
Rebecca at Tunbridge Wells

Synopsis

Will and Rosie meet as teenagers.

They're opposites in every way, but over secret walks home and late-night phone calls they become closer, destined to be one another's great love story.

Until, one day, tragedy strikes and any possibility of them being together shatters.

But that tragedy - and their history - is what will connect them forever.

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9780241604830
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Weight: 504g
  • Dimensions: 223 x 142 x 35 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Talking at Night
A stunningly written love story
Tender, touching, heart-rending and with characters that truly live and breathe on the page, this wonderful debut is beautifully written. Daverley is an au... READ MORE
Ella Dove
Talking at Night
Absolutely gorgeous
Such an amazing story, and so beautifully written. Claire has a fantastic ability to draw you right into the emotion of Will and Rosie, and the description... READ MORE
Tom Cresswell
Talking at Night
Just beautiful
I read this book over three days, then read it slowly all over again!! It’s so beautifully, heartbreakingly written. I think most people can relate to the... READ MORE
Kelly Degaute
Talking at Night
Emotional
Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, I'd heard great things so I was pleased to be offered an early review copy. The book however has ea... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
Talking at Night
Incredible debut
What an an incredible debut. I swallowed Talking at Night in three days, and I don’t think there is a more powerful testament to Daverley’s writing than th... READ MORE
Tamar Golan
Talking at Night
Favourite read of the year. Beautiful!
Heartbreakingly beautiful. I absolutely adored this book. My favourite read of the year so far. Will and Rosie were such gorgeously flawed characters. ... READ MORE
CHLOE FORD
Talking at Night
silky, lyrical and effortless
This debut novel is simply gorgeous. Throughout its pages we follow Rosie and Will, charting their relationship from their school days through to middle ag... READ MORE
Georgia Taylor
Talking at Night
✨Emotion that cuts deep to your soul ✨
What an incredible read! I quickly found myself rooting for Will and Rosie, on their journey to finding a beautiful and unique connection with one another.... READ MORE
Hannah Cresswell
Talking at Night
Gorgeous love and tale of trust
This really is a wonderful Romeo and Juliet style live story. Will and Rosie would not seem like the perfect match. A slow burn, divided loyalties and an e... READ MORE
wendy flood
Talking at Night
Transporting, moving, lyrical, romantic...
As soon as I started this book I knew that I wasn't going to be able to put it down. Sure enough, my husband, children - and even dog - were completely ign... READ MORE
Chloe Williams
Talking at Night
Novel mainly set in NORFOLK
Talking at Night is a cleverly woven tale of the relationships between Will, Joshua and Rosie. It’s a story of first love, but with a twist; an epic tale t... READ MORE
TripFiction
Talking at Night
Brilliant!
I absolutely loved this book. It’s so well written and the relationship between the two main characters is beautiful. Absolutely recommended.
Helen Doroszkiewicz
Talking at Night
Brilliant
Talking At Night is Claire Daverley’s debut novel. A powerful love story between Will and Rosie, two teenagers that meet at college and, despite a terrible... READ MORE
Eve Webster
Talking at Night
Cancel everything!
Cancel the papers, the shopping, the housework - in fact cancel everything when it comes to reading this story! The world outside did not exist whilst I w... READ MORE
Judith Sage
Talking at Night
Wonderful romance
I just adored Talking At Night, a wonderful love story. Will and Rosie are meant to be together, they just won't recognise the fact and keep pushing each o... READ MORE
Lucille Grant
Talking at Night
Top Read of 2023 so far!
Thank you NetGalley and Michael Joseph (Penguin) for sending me this advanced copy for review. I already know Talking at Night is going to be my most recom... READ MORE
Ellie Constantinou
Talking at Night
Nostalgia inducing
One cold November night, teenagers Will and Rosie meet while sitting around a bonfire, surrounded by their school friends, including Rosie’s twin brother a... READ MORE
Georgina (ReadsEatsExplores)
Talking at Night
Somewhat long-winded on and off again relationship
Rosie and Will have this on and off again relationship, starting from when they are teenagers. She doesn't believe in it and keeps going away to do what sh... READ MORE
Bri C
Talking at Night
Loved. This. Book!
THIS BOOK! I don't read a lot of fiction but a friend recommended this to me and I loved it. The characters and setting are so immersive you'll really str... READ MORE
Julian Bright
Talking at Night
Beautifully written with captivating characters
This is one of those books I just could not put down. It is beautifully written with interesting and captivating characters. Some difficult subjects are se... READ MORE
GemB
Talking at Night
A perfectly imperfect love story
I absolutely devoured this book! This beautifully written love story is at once sad, touching and hopeful. Daverley transports you into each scene with des... READ MORE
Liesel Thomas
Talking at Night
Amazing Debut
This book felt the the literary equivalent of those hours just as dawn is coming when you've been at a party and most people have gone home or fallen aslee... READ MORE
Kerry Young
Talking at Night
A moving and emotional novel
I'd read a lot of positive advance reviews for Talking at Night so was thrilled to have the opportunity to read this. Will and Rosie meet as teenagers in N... READ MORE
Saffy Young
Talking at Night
I love this LOUDLY, please read
This book resonated with me so deeply that it is the first I have ever posted a review for. Yet, I am not completely sure I can find the best words to shar... READ MORE
Ashley Bowers
Talking at Night
Recommend to everyone you meet!
I find it difficult to believe how quickly this book swept me up in the story. I can’t remember the last time a story made me laugh, hope and sob at the sa... READ MORE
Helen Marsh
Talking at Night
Beautifully written debut
A brilliant, captivating character driven love story between two people who first meet as teens then again later in life. I couldn’t put it down. This book... READ MORE
Claire  Turkington
Talking at Night
A stunning read
I loved this book so much. It’s one of those wonderful books that leave you feeling totally bereft when you’ve finished. I wanted to read it again straight... READ MORE
Cassie Reader
Talking at Night
Beautifully written
This is the first fiction book that I have read in years and I thoroughly enjoyed how the main characters, Rosie and Will, evolved in each chapter. This ca... READ MORE
Collette Hemmings