The Bleeding

The Bleeding

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 15/09/2022
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Bleeding
A Gothic Tale of Mystery x
This was a lovely gothic tale was a lovely historical thriller that left me speechless at the end. The story weaves in and out of three women's lives with ... READ MORE
Brena  Newnham
The Bleeding
Magnificent Gothic Tale.
Three different women, three different stories all entwined. What begins almost as a conventional murder mystery in Canada becomes so much more as this twi... READ MORE
Teresa@StNeots
The Bleeding
Full Of Twisted Tension. Perfect For Dark Evenings.
An old woman sits on the cold hard steps to her house unmoving. The only thing she has muttered to the police is a name. As the detective she has named ar... READ MORE
Nicole @hemelwstones
The Bleeding
Stunning
I absolutely loved this gothic, historical yet modern day novel. Telling the story of three women from 1899, 1949 and 2002. It's a tale of murder, witchcra... READ MORE
Sally Boocock
The Bleeding
Brilliant
This book tells the story of three women in different tes. When I started reading it I wondered how they would all come together but believe me they do. It... READ MORE
Sally Boocock
The Bleeding
Brilliant
This book tells the story of three women in different tes. When I started reading it I wondered how they would all come together but believe me they do. It... READ MORE
Sally Boocock
The Bleeding
I never saw it coming...
Wow! I've literally just put it down after DEMOLISHING the last 100pages! An absolute must-read for anyone looking for a historical thriller with a touch o... READ MORE
Krissy

Synopsis

Queen of French Noir, Johana Gustawsson returns with a spell-binding, dazzlingly dark gothic thriller that swings from Belle Époque France to 21st-century Quebec, with an extraordinary mystery at its heart … FIRST in a bewitching new series

**Shortlisted for the CWA Crime in Translation Dagger**

`A wonderfully dark, intricately woven historical thriller spanning three generations … it will have you hooked from the very first page' B A Paris

`A gripping story of murder and black magic …Gustawsson slowly weaves together three seemingly disparate strands of her narrative with a skill that shows why she is such an admired crime writer in her native France´ The Times BOOK OF THE MONTH

`Intriguingly dark and vivid, and so cleverly told through three different time frames´ Essie Fox

________________

Three women
Three eras
One extraordinary mystery…
1899, Belle Époque Paris. Lucienne’s two daughters are believed dead when her mansion burns to the ground, but she is certain that her girls are still alive and embarks on a journey into the depths of the spiritualist community to find them.

1949, Post-War Québec. Teenager Lina’s father has died in the French Resistance, and as she struggles to fit in at school, her mother introduces her to an elderly woman at the asylum where she works, changing Lina’s life in the darkest way imaginable.

2002, Quebec. A former schoolteacher is accused of brutally stabbing her husband – a famous university professor – to death. Detective Maxine Grant, who has recently lost her own husband and is parenting a teenager and a new baby single-handedly, takes on the investigation.

Under enormous personal pressure, Maxine makes a series of macabre discoveries that link directly to historical cases involving black magic and murder, secret societies and spiritism … and women at breaking point, who will stop at nothing to protect the ones they love…

_________________

`This novel is a whirlpool that draws you irresistibly into levels of darkness so much deeper than you can possibly be ready for´ Ambrose Parry

`I found myself racing through the book, always wanting one more page, one more chapter. A wonderfully creepy, unsettling read, with a superb twist in its tail´ James Oswald

`Gustawsson’s writing is so vivid, it’s electrifying. Utterly compelling´ Peter James

`I was hooked from the first page – a stunning and beautifully written gothic thriller full of atmosphere, intrigue and delight´ Alexandra Benedict

`Brilliant … the last chapters knocked me sideways, and it’s a long time since that’s happened´ Lisa Hall

`A dark world of elegance and grotesque … mesmeric´ Matt Wesolowski

`Harrowing, compelling, haunting, vivid, twisty and shocking! ´ Noelle Holten

`A powerful page-turner´ Livres Hebdo

***NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER IN FRANCE***

FOR FANS OF Laura Purcell, Stacey Halls, Bridget Collins, Anna Mazzola, Essie Fox, Ambrose Parry and Laura Shepherd-Robinson

Praise for Johana Gustawsson

`A satisfying, full-fat mystery´ The Times

`Assured telling of a complex story´ Sunday Times

`A real page-turner, I loved it´ Martina Cole

`A bold and intelligent read´ Guardian

`Utterly compelling´ Woman’s Own

`Cleverly plotted, simply excellent´ Ragnar Jónasson

`A must-read´ Daily Express

`Gritty, bone-chilling, and harrowing – it’s not for the faint of heart, and not to be missed´ Crime by the Book

`A relentless heart-stopping masterpiece´ New York Journal of Book

  • Publisher: Orenda Books
  • ISBN: 9781914585265
  • Number of pages: 300
  • Dimensions: 204 x 125 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Bleeding
Innocent blood
The Bleeding was for me a welcome return to Gustawsson's writing, writing that shows an uncanny ability to link a present-day mystery with events - nearly ... READ MORE
Blue Book Balloon
The Bleeding
Dark, mysterious and stunningly written. Another classic from the author
Oh what an absolute treat this book was. It has everything I look for in a novel - mystery, intrigue, brilliant characters and that kind of atmospheric ten... READ MORE
Jen Lucas
The Bleeding
Superb gothic drama with a feminist edge
Johana Gustawsson is on fire in her latest and most shockingly vivid novel to date. She has written a strong, feminist gothic novel that ties together the ... READ MORE
Mary Picken
The Bleeding
Dark psychological thriller set in PARIS and QUEBEC
The Bleeding is set in three periods in history, and in two far apart locations. 1899 Belle Epoque Paris, 1949 Post War Québec, and 2002 Quebec. But the di... READ MORE
TripFiction