The Book Club

The Book Club

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 01/10/2020
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

EVERYONE IS HIDING A SECRET. ONE OF THEM IS MURDER.'I raced through it - edgy, tense' Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange'I for one am terrified of the woman next door!' Louise Candlish, author of The Other Passenger'Tightly plotted, edge-of-seat gripping' Sophie Hannah, author of Haven't They Grown'Dark, twisty, claustrophobic' Jo Spain, author of The Confession _______________The book club was her idea, of course.It was her way into our group. A chance to get close.I knew from the day she arrived that she couldn't be trusted.And I was right.Alice didn't come to the village for peace and quiet.She came for revenge. _______________A deliciously addictive psychological thriller about a book club that unravels dark and scandalous secrets between one circle of neighbours. The perfect page-turner for fans of Big Little Lies and The Rumour.What readers are saying about The Book Club:'Wow. What a page turner''Couldn't put it down!!!''Truly a five-star debut''Absolutely addictive''Seriously page-turning, totally gripping''A thrilling read, found it hard to put down once I'd started. Loved the ending''Brilliant, a proper page turner''Dark and creepy''Loved it!''Gripping to the last page''Fast paced and will make your blood run cold!''Had me on the edge of my seat'

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9781472129673
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 260g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Book Club
Not for me
I thought maybe this was a 'cosy crime' book because I couldn't really believe that these people would be so desperate to keep their terrible 'secrets' so ... READ MORE
Melanie Lewis
The Book Club
A little dark and creepy, and able to keep you interested to the last line
A little dark and creepy, and able to keep you interested to the last line. Sometimes being in a book clubs is not always about the books, sometimes it's... READ MORE
Suzanne Griffin
The Book Club
Good read
The Book Club takes the expression “Revenge is a dish best served cold” to another level, its put me off joining any sort of book club! Set in rural Engla... READ MORE
Heather Duff
The Book Club
The Book club review
This book left me with an unease feeling and a constant need to lock my doors. Although you know from the beginning who the antagonist is, this fast pac... READ MORE
Suri
The Book Club
Someone knows everyone’s secret.
Many thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for an advanced copy of this book. Alice moves into the cottage next door to Lucy and sets about befriending e... READ MORE
Christine  Revely
The Book Club
Look for small village secrets
Lucy has escaped to small village life from an affair at work. Escape to where there are no prying eyes. Until Alice moves in next door. Lucy had a bad fee... READ MORE
Charlotte  Pawson
The Book Club
An Intriguing Read
3.5 stars rounded up to 4 A new neighbour, Alice, moves into a small village. She's keen to make new friends and arranges coffee mornings and a book group... READ MORE
Louise Wilson
The Book Club
A great read
Lucy moves to a village after having had an affair with her boss. She’s made friends and is getting her life back on track and then Alice moves in next do... READ MORE
Vanessa Krushner
The Book Club
Good thriller read
Living next door to Alice, you assume would be a nice girl..... think again. Who is Alice and what is she up to? This book was a good read, and you can ima... READ MORE
Angela
The Book Club
Intriguing throughout
A really good book that kept me guessing throughout. The story follows Lucy who has moved to a cottage in the Cotswolds after an affair with her boss. She... READ MORE
Laura Doe
The Book Club
Reading Groups will love this one
I love psychological thrillers, enjoying the unique tenseness of watching a dark mind unfold. A new neighbour moves into a small village seemingly keen on... READ MORE
Sally  Hughes
The Book Club
Reading Groups will love this one
I love psychological thrillers, enjoying the unique tenseness of watching a dark mind unfold. A new neighbour moves into a small village seemingly keen on... READ MORE
Sally  Hughes
The Book Club
All round entertaining read
The Book Club by CJ Cooper I rate this book 3.5 stars EVERYONE IS HIDING A SECRET. ONE OF THEM IS MURDER! A small village, a group of neighbours, a bun... READ MORE
@bookbloggerjanine
The Book Club
Far from it
I'm not sure what you expect but I actually enjoyed reading this. By the middle it is very simple. But kept on. Endind was bit predictable.
Collins
The Book Club
A quick, easy read but it isn't one that stands out
Lucy has upped sticks and moved from London's hustle and bustle to a quiet village in the Cotswolds. She's made new friends and is starting to feel settled... READ MORE
Barnsey's Books