The Bookseller of Inverness

The Bookseller of Inverness

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 04/08/2022
Not available
This product is currently unavailable
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Bookseller of Inverness
A Web of Deceit & a Series of Old Scores to be Settled in the Ashes of War
Cracking historical crime read. I don't know much about the Jacobite risings but S. G. Maclean broke it down into bitesize with a brief prologue of the bat... READ MORE
Nicole @hemelwstones

Synopsis

A gripping historical thriller set in Inverness in the wake of the 1746 battle of Culloden from twice CWA award-winning author S. G. MacLean. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor. After Culloden, Iain MacGillivray was left for dead on Drumossie Moor. Wounded, his face brutally slashed, he survived only by pretending to be dead as the Redcoats patrolled the corpses of his Jacobite comrades. Six years later, with the clan chiefs routed and the Highlands subsumed into the British state, Iain lives a quiet life, working as a bookseller in Inverness. One day, after helping several of his regular customers, he notices a stranger lurking in the upper gallery of his shop, poring over his collection. But the man refuses to say what he's searching for and only leaves when Iain closes for the night. The next morning Iain opens up shop and finds the stranger dead, his throat cut, and the murder weapon laid out in front of him - a sword with a white cockade on its hilt, the emblem of the Jacobites. With no sign of the killer, Iain wonders whether the stranger discovered what he was looking for - and whether he paid for it with his life. He soon finds himself embroiled in a web of deceit and a series of old scores to be settled in the ashes of war.

  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781529414172
  • Number of pages: 416
  • Weight: 641g
  • Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 38 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Bookseller of Inverness
Excellent work of historical fiction set in 18th Century Scotland
My thanks to Quercus Books for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Bookseller of Inverness’ by S. G. MacLean. This is a standalone historical thriller set in Sc... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
The Bookseller of Inverness
outstanding hitsorical fiction
Wonderfully evocative, a read shrouded in atmosphere, let the writing transport you back in time with its descriptive narrative and poetic style, the autho... READ MORE
Andy  wormald
The Bookseller of Inverness
Great writer and brilliant setting
Iain McGillivray is one of the survivors of Culloden, scarred but unrepentent he lives a quiet life in Inverness. However the latest Jacobite plot is abou... READ MORE
Jo-anne Atkinson
The Bookseller of Inverness
A book perfect for anyone with any interest in Scotland's history
That is a book perfect for anyone with any interest in Scotland's history. Of course, it's historical fiction but very well researched, rich with interesti... READ MORE
Bibliophager
The Bookseller of Inverness
Strongly recommended
I always know I’m going to learn something new when I read a S.G McLean novel as there’s plenty of researches and the historical background is always detai... READ MORE
AMG