The Bookseller of Inverness

The Bookseller of Inverness

Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 02/03/2023
RRP £9.99
£8.49
Save £1.50 (15%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Bookseller of Inverness
A well deserved Scottish Book of the Year for 2023.
A marvellous mystery rich with historical detail. There is plenty here for everyone, whether you're a crime enthusiast or not. MacLean's vision of 18th Cen... READ MORE
Luna

Synopsis

A gripping historical thriller set in Inverness in the wake of the 1746 battle of Culloden from twice CWA award-winning author S. G. MacLean. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor. After Culloden, Iain MacGillivray was left for dead on Drumossie Moor. Wounded, his face brutally slashed, he survived only by pretending to be dead as the Redcoats patrolled the corpses of his Jacobite comrades. Six years later, with the clan chiefs routed and the Highlands subsumed into the British state, Iain lives a quiet life, working as a bookseller in Inverness. One day, after helping several of his regular customers, he notices a stranger lurking in the upper gallery of his shop, poring over his collection. But the man refuses to say what he's searching for and only leaves when Iain closes for the night. The next morning Iain opens up shop and finds the stranger dead, his throat cut, and the murder weapon laid out in front of him - a sword with a white cockade on its hilt, the emblem of the Jacobites. With no sign of the killer, Iain wonders whether the stranger discovered what he was looking for - and whether he paid for it with his life. He soon finds himself embroiled in a web of deceit and a series of old scores to be settled in the ashes of war.

  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781529414219
  • Number of pages: 416
  • Weight: 285g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Bookseller of Inverness
A Historical Whodunnit
I don’t very often read fiction but living and travelling in Scotland for the past 15 years I was intrigued by the title as I knew of a large and famous bo... READ MORE
Karen Sales
The Bookseller of Inverness
Very enjoyable read
Both my husband and I enjoyed this book. Well written and gripping and evocative of the time
Helen McKain
The Bookseller of Inverness
Historical fiction at its best.
This is one of the best historical fiction books I have read in a very long time. I have highly recommended it to friends, family and my book group. It h... READ MORE
Anne Ayres
The Bookseller of Inverness
Amazing read
What an amazing story from an amazing writer. From start to finish the story and characters gripped the imagination and it helps its set in a time pwriod i... READ MORE
Alison Walsh
The Bookseller of Inverness
Totally Immersive
Written in the immediate aftermath of the carnage of Culloden. Some of the Jacobite rebels are still at large. In Iain MacGillivray's bookshop, a body is f... READ MORE
Sue