The Borrowed Hills

The Borrowed Hills

Hardback Published on: 11/04/2024
£16.99
Coming soon
Published 11/04/2024
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Borrowed Hills
The Hills Have Sheep
Very few books pique my interest with the urgency that The Borrowed Hills did when I first heard Scott Preston present his book back at Cheltenhan in 2023.... READ MORE
Conor

Synopsis

As foot and mouth disease spreads across the hills of Cumbria, emptying the valleys of sheep and filling the skies with smoke, Steve Elliman and William Herne, two neighbouring farmers, join forces to reverse their fortunes by rustling livestock from the south. With the struggles of the land never far away, Steve's only distraction is his growing fascination with William's wife, Helen. When their mountain home comes under the sway of a ruthless outsider, it is left to Steve to save himself and what's left of their farming community, in a savage conflict that threatens an ancient way of life. A reimagining of the American Western for the fells of northern England, Scott Preston's thrilling debut tells of men and women battered by circumstance, struggling to make lives for themselves in an unyielding land. Lyrical, cinematic, visceral and steeped in local folklore, The Borrowed Hills is an epic tale of a forgotten Britain.

  • Publisher: John Murray Press
  • ISBN: 9781399812849
  • Number of pages: 272
  • Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Borrowed Hills
A sheep-farming neo-Western for fans of Animalia and Lisa McInerney
The publisher bills this Foot and Mouth inspired, Cumbrian hill-farm set novel as a neo-Western thriller with echoes of Cormac McCarthy and Annie Proulx. ... READ MORE
Graham Fulcher