The Box of Delights

The Box of Delights

Children's, New & Recommended, Age 9-12, Classics
Paperback Published on: 10/03/2014
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Box of Delights
Time-Travelling Adventures and a Ruthless Adversary
A mysterious Punch and Judy man gives Kay the magic Box of Delights. This will transport him back into the past – to the days of King Arthur and even Troy.... READ MORE
Jane Mac

Synopsis

And now, Master Harker, now that the Wolves are Running, perhaps you could do something to stop their Bite?'A magical old man has asked Kay to protect the Box of Delights, a Box with which he can travel through time. But Kay is in danger: Abner Brown will stop at nothing to get his hands on it. The police don't believe Kay, so when his family and the Bishop are scrobbled up just before Christmas, he knows he must act alone …John Masefield’s classic children’s book is considered to be one of the great works of modern children’s fiction. Magical, fantastical and filled with vivid, rich characters – brought to life in this edition by Quentin Blake’s stunning artwork – The Box of Delights and its sequel The Midnight Folk are a must-read for any child. A genuine fantasy classic in the tradition of Peter Pan, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland or The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. If you like Harry Potter, you’ll love this. A wonderful book for early readers aged 8 and up.Recently adapted for the stage by Piers Torday, bestselling author of The Last Wild.‘Two of the greatest children’s books ever written’ – The Times on The Box of Delights and The Midnight Folk.

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ISBN: 9781405275521
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Weight: 460g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 32 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Box of Delights
a very enjoyable read
A wonderful book. What a vivid imagination. The text is a little bit dated in places, but still a very enjoyable read. The BBC adaptation of the book is ve... READ MORE
Sophie