The Boy I Am

The Boy I Am

Children's, New & Recommended, Teenage & Young Adult
Paperback Published on: 07/01/2021
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

They say we're dangerous. But we're not that different. Jude is running out of time. Once a year, lucky young men in the House of Boys are auctioned to the female elite. But if Jude fails to be selected before he turns seventeen, a future deep underground in the mines awaits. Yet ever since the death of his best friend at the hands of the all-powerful Chancellor, Jude has been desperate to escape the path set out for him. Finding himself entangled in a plot to assassinate the Chancellor, he finally has a chance to avenge his friend and win his freedom. But at what price? A speculative YA thriller, tackling themes of traditional gender roles and power dynamics, for fans of Malorie Blackman, Louise O'Neill and The Power.

  • Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group
  • ISBN: 9781788951227
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Boy I Am
Well written and thought provoking.
Thank you to NetGalley for the ARC in exchange for review. An interesting subversion of the 'Handmaid's Tale' formula, a dystopia where men are the propert... READ MORE
Carolyn Percy
The Boy I Am
Dark, Dangerous and Full of Action
A dark and dangerous dystopia novel, full of fast-paced action. Reminiscent of The Power and Only Ever Yours due to its exploration of gender roles. It's ... READ MORE
MakexBelieve
The Boy I Am
Mind blowing, unique and beautifully written!
‘My name is Jude Grant and I am alive.’ Put this YA on your TBR, buy it! It’s mind blowing, unique, gripping and beautifully written. Swapping gender role... READ MORE
Marieke du Pré
The Boy I Am
Powerful Reading
The Boy I Am will still, without any doubt, be in my top 5 by the end of the year. I can't remember the last time I read a book that left me speechless, mo... READ MORE
Charlotte Pace
The Boy I Am
apocalyptic flipped dystopia
I enjoyed this flipped dystopian story's constant pace; it's as though the author doesn't want you to take time for yourself because the protagonist Jude, ... READ MORE
Sal Barn
The Boy I Am
Interesting
I liked what this did for the most part but there were moments were the characters seemed more 2d than they were intended to be. The plot and story was goo... READ MORE
beth younge
The Boy I Am
Fast-paced, gender-flipped YA thriller
From a reader's point of view If you want an example of outstanding YA speculative fiction, then look no further. On one hand, The Boy I Am is a futuristi... READ MORE
Philippa Francis
The Boy I Am
Fantastic book
I really enjoyed this book, I struggled to put it down! It is dark and unsettling. It has been interesting to read a book where gender roles are swapped, w... READ MORE
june.reads