The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn

The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 04/03/2021
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'Animal lovers will delight' Ann Granger 'A real treat . . . I loved it. Cats, dogs, murder and a credible and relatable heroine' Barbara Nadel 'This debut promises to build up into a popular series' Daily Mail Clarice Beech has two passions in life: animal rescue and Detective Inspector Rick Beech. She is devoted to the first but she and Rick have been separated for the past six months - life without him is hard. Clarice shares her other love, for contemporary ceramics, with the charming Lady Vita Fayrepoynt. When Vita's adopted three-legged ginger cat Walter disappears from Weatherby Hall Clarice is called in to find him. Walter, snug in an old barn, is quite well. But his discovery ends with Clarice in hospital, and Rose Miller, late of the Old Vicarage in the morgue. There is nothing natural about Rose's death... Putting their differences aside, Clarice and Rick are drawn together to try to understand the murder that has shaken the rural Lincolnshire community. As she explores Rose's past Clarice is pulled into a shady world of blackmail, scams and violence. And as the secrets of Weatherby Hall and the Fayrepoynt family threaten to spill out Clarice finds friendships tested, and her own life at risk. A debut mystery set in the Lincolnshire Wolds, featuring an amateur detective who mixes sleuthing with her other great love: animal rescue. The perfect classic crime mystery for fans of Ann Granger, M. C. Beaton and Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders.

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9781472131713
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 232g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 124 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn
The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn
Clarice Beech loves her cats, she rescues and then sets about rehoming them. This, amongst other things out a strain on her marriage and he moved out but s... READ MORE
Zoe Morton
The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn
A Fabulous Début
The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn is an engaging début that I found very fresh. I really enjoyed the mystery with its copious twists and turns - the d... READ MORE
Bridget East
The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn
It's highly recommended
I hope this the first in a series because I thoroughly enjoyed and would be happy to read other stories featuring these characters. It's an engrossing and ... READ MORE
AMG