The Colditz Story

The Colditz Story

Non-Fiction, History & Politics, Military History, The Second World War
Paperback Published on: 20/11/2014
£12.99
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

Colditz was the last stop for prisoners of war during WWII. Those who persisted in escaping from other camps were sent to the impregnable fortress of Colditz Castle, situated on a rocky outcrop high above the River Mulde. Once within the walls of the castle, the Germans reasoned, escape was impossible. And yet many prisoners attempted escape and many succeeded

Pat Reid was one of those men. Appointed 'Escape Officer' by his fellow inmates, he masterminded many of the attempts. From tunnelling, to hiding in rubbish sacks, disguising themselves as German officers and even leaping from the castle walls, nothing was too dangerous or foolhardy compared to imprisonment by the enemy. Reid's own escape, in 1942, was both one of the most simple and the most daring.

First published in 1952, The Colditz Story is a classic escape story in the tradition of The Great Escape and The Wooden Horse.

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781444795684
  • Number of pages: 224
  • Weight: 160g
  • Dimensions: 197 x 132 x 22 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Colditz Story
Great
The classic novel of the allied prisoners escape attempts from the infamous colditz castle is a riveting one. Reid writes well as he details the plans, the... READ MORE
Book collector
The Colditz Story
Classic adventure of escape from a PoW Camp
This is an enjoyable read about the series of attempted, and some successful, escapes from an infamous German POW camp in WW2. It reads a bit at times li... READ MORE
Canuck Abroad