The Crow Folk

The Crow Folk: The Witches of Woodville 1

Paperback Published on: 04/02/2021
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Crow Folk
A fun book in a World War Two, witchcraft and demonic possession kind of way
Faye Bright lives with her father, in a pub, in a small village called Woodville during the Second World War. Their position, in Kent, means that bombing i... READ MORE
Jane Skudder
The Crow Folk
Very enjoyable
A brilliant mix of history and Fae, retelling the world at war....with other worlds. It's rla really heartfelt and enjoyable read with the witty protagonis... READ MORE
Georgina Mott

Synopsis

'Beautiful and engaging and clever and what more could you ask for in a book?' Manda Scott, bestselling author of A Treachery of Spies 'A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age' Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window 'Extremely funny, full of imagination, verve and typical English "home counties" wit' Irish Independent  As Spitfires roar overhead and a dark figure stalks the village of Woodville, a young woman will discover her destiny . . . Faye Bright always felt a little bit different. And today she’s found out why. She’s just stumbled across her late mother’s diary which includes not only a spiffing recipe for jam roly-poly, but spells, incantations, runes and recitations . . . a witch's notebook. And Faye has inherited her mother’s abilities.  Just in time, too. The Crow Folk are coming. Led by the charismatic Pumpkinhead, their strange magic threatens Faye and the villagers. Armed with little more than her mum's words, her trusty bicycle, the grudging help of two bickering old ladies, and some aggressive church bellringing, Faye will find herself on the front lines of a war nobody expected. *** For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes this delightful novel of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . . Don't miss the other magical books in the WITCHES OF WOODVILLE series! #1 The Crow Folk #2 Babes in the Wood #3 The Ghost of Ivy Barn  #4 The Holly King  Praise for THE CROW FOLK 'Stay has brewed a cracking blend of charm and creepiness in The Crow Folk. A rip-roaring tale of bravery and witchcraft on the wartime home front, expertly told with lashings of wit and warmth' Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World    'A delightful mash-up of Dad’s Army and Charmed. An absolute treat' CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times 'Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read' Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries   'You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge' Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village   'A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick' Ian W Sainsbury  

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • ISBN: 9781471197970
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 21 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Crow Folk
Witches, scarecrows, and a bunch of birds
I was expecting a lot of things going into The Crow Folk. I can’t say that a place on my favourites shelf was one of them. But here we are. The story foll... READ MORE
stef
The Crow Folk
Witches, Scarecrows & World War 2
Thank you to NetGalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a fair review. Our protagonist Faye Bright is a smart & capable girl, pushing against... READ MORE
Serena Coleman
The Crow Folk
Amusing and slightly disturbing
Amusing and slightly disturbing, "The Crow Folk" is a YA fantasy story, with a touch of mild horror. It was an enjoyable read, with an interesting plot, bu... READ MORE
Dawn Lewis
The Crow Folk
Charming and entertaining.
A really wonderful read that has a lovely old fashioned feel, both in the writing style and the content. Set during WWII, the village of Woodville is prepa... READ MORE
Chrys - Plymouth
The Crow Folk
Full of talking scarecrows, witches and bell-ringing
I liked this, I just wasn't wowed by it, and I found it a little slow at times. Fun and easy reading, it hovered somewhere between the vibe of cosy crime f... READ MORE
KellyAnne
The Crow Folk
A rip-roaring tale of bravery and witchcraft on the wartime home front
I loved this book - it's funny and pacey, I raced through it. The wartime setting felt well-researched without hammering the research home, and the tone is... READ MORE
P Hughes